Help at our property in the Morvan National Park in Burgundy, France

Country

France

Favourited 112 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    35  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/09/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    250

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Two old fossils, been living in France since 1989. Just retiring after 15 years of full time fostering, so the house/garden and ourselves are all just a tad battered and in need of restoration! I (Rowena) had quite a serious tussle with cancer a few years back, that has left me full of ideas but largely useless with 1 lung and chronic asthma. I am still a full time technical translator. Peter is an author and strangely enough writes books! We have travelled extensively over the last few years in conjunction with charity work, and have visited the townships around Jo'burg and the adjoining shanty towns, which we hold very dear to our hearts. We are basically looking for motivated autonomous people to take over, manage, plan, improve, use their imagination and make our home liveable again. In return I am more than willing to cook, wine and dine and welcome you. We can offer a massive garden, use of a bicycle or motorbike, fabulous deciduous forests, stunning lakes in the Morvan National Park in Burgundy, France, bus service available to Dijon, Avallon and Beaune, good food and an ideal location for yoga / meditation...
    We have just had a donation of a hundred pallets - all of which will need breaking down to upcycle the wood into creative projects - all bright ideas welcome!
    UMMMM - well the best laid plans and all that :-( Peter has had a mild stroke and the decision has been made The Saggy Baggy Mansion has to go! We still need help up until end of July to clean, sparkle and make the old heap (not Peter) look as irresistible as possible to prospective buyers! We're NOT being prosaic, we're going to move to India! At our age why not? Would love to host one last season of wonderful workawayers ;-)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Whilst we are deep in the French countryside there are very real opportunities for mixing and brushing up your French language - really it depends on how sociable you are...

  • Help

    Help

    We need you NOW! Trying to empty, clean, paint and ready the house for newcomers whilst still working MAJOR challenge - please come and help!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Rooms in our 'saggy baggy mansion', though with 2 hectares of land if you prefer the privacy of camping that's not a problem - we can also welcome camping car/van drivers and provide an electrical hook up

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are very laid back, always happy to host and share our bit of paradise, animal wise we're down to four chickens and a cat - so no great pet caring burden there - we're trying this route to see if, with helping hands, we can stay in this house we have worked so hard to pay for, this is a great place to 'get away from it all' and years ago when we ran it as a B&B people came here to sleep! Quite high altitude and 0% pollution can really go to your head! Beaune, Dijon, Semur-en-Auxois are all easily reachable, and the number of places to take a day-trip are innumerable! From Paris easiest way to get to us is TGV to Montbard, where the bus going to Saulieu will be waiting in the car park just in front of the station (you can book this online with your train ticket) - let us know your ETA, and we'll be there waiting for you :-) Coming from Dijon there is a regular bus service on weekdays running from the station and that will get you to Saulieu for the princely sum of 3 euros, regarding ETA, same thing applies!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






















Host ref number: 266225287913