Open to varied contributions in my little corner of heaven on West coast - Connacht, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 66 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1450

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have a small holding on the shores of the Atlantic near Kinvarra, co. Galway, which is at the Galway/ Clare border, in the Burren. It is a small harbour town, with a few restaurants and the pubs are famous for traditional music.
    I am an artist, photographer and a writer. I have published 15 books and exhibited worldwide.I have a small garden which is in constant need of care, sheds to be painted, photographic archives in disorder. I have a few building projects in the pipeline.... and two cats with a big appetite, and I share a gorgeous dog with my neighbour, up the road.
    I eat organic food, as much as i can, and fish but no meat. If you are a smoker, please don t apply.
    I would consider hosting people who have initiative and are fairly independent. 35 years old +
    I took myself out or WOOF and Couchsurfing because i ended up feeling like a babysitter and had little contributions in exchange.I am very new to workaway.
    I enjoy sharing, am open to new experiences...and my place is chaotic but beautiful..

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have lived a pretty interesting life and have travelled, all over the world as a photographer.
    I practice Cranio Sacral rebalancing and massage. I am fluent in French, some Dutch and German..and i am great fun.
    I was in and out of the Rajneesh ashram in India , for eight years.
    I paint and write, am a fly fisherman , fly tier and thinker with motorbikes, boats and boat engines.
    I ran meditations workshops in France, London, Germany , U.S.S.R..
    I am an archer and was part of the International team for many years, we travelled to world championships, European championships and Tournaments, worldwide. I can give some coaching.
    I gave up competitive Archery, a few years ago as it was taking my life over and , in the West, people are obsessed with getting wee arrows in the middle of the target, instead of discovering why they re not getting there, in the first place...
    I love cooking and love being cooked for, it is such a treat.
    I enjoy sharing AND I enjoy my own space and aloneness.
    Silence is bliss,
    I love my planet,
    Change is the only thing that never changes...
    I am a pisces.
    The Burren, where I live is a beautiful limestone echo system, full of wonders, plants and beauties to discover. My house is a hundred yards from the sea, there is a sandy beach nearby, and the village is five km away.
    My place is surrounded by garden birds, sea birds, dive bombing swallows and the odd raven, waking me up in the morning. Most mornings, seals are sunning themselves on the far shore. Well, correction, some mornings...sunny ones are rare. Travel safe. x

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening, general maintenance work outside, painting house and / or sheds, maybe helping with vast photographic archives, in disorder. 50 percent colour slides, 10 percent black and white negs, and the rest digital. Anyone who is fluent in mac computers and it s software, would be a great help. Also I don t like spending time ironing and I have about fifty shirts waiting for an iron....

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English French, some Dutch and German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A nice quiet bedroom

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off, you can sleep, play with the kittens, look at the clouds go by, find out where the gold fishes are hiding. Give up, like I did ,and read one of my special Michael Leunig book. He knows....
    Cycle to the village or to the Burren, swim in the Atlantic, go trekking, or to the music sessions in the local pubs.
    There is a bus service to Galway (25km away) , to the Cliff s of Moher via Doolin..
    Galway runs train and bus service to the rest of Ireland.
    In Ireland, nobody is ever on time and, if you go cycling, beware, we
    don t drive on the left of the road,
    we drive in the middle!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 265485171471