Come and spend your days in the middle of nature in Monachil, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 68 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! I live in a small house in the middle of nature. I have a room for you, with shared bathroom with me. The house is in the middle of my food forest. There is a pool with goldfish and kois. Over the years I have planted many fruit trees and bushes as well as a vegetable garden. The temperature is very pleasant most of the year, and in winter I light the small wood stove. One side of the property boarders with the Sierra Nevada natural park ; on the other side of the Monachil river, right across from the house is "Oak Hill", a bronze age settlement - over 3500 years old. You can follow beautiful trails starting from home, like "Los Cahorros", with five suspension bridges and a cool, beautiful walk along the river through a Mediterranean riverbank forest.
     I have Wifi. The bus stop is 200m away, we are 1 km from the town of Monachil which is a very nice walk, the city of Granada is 5km away so I often go by bike. Maybe I could lend you one.From the house, only the birds and the distant sound of the river are heard.

    Hola! Vivo en una casa pequeña en plena naturaleza.Tengo una habitación libre para tí,con baño compartido conmigo.La casa está en medio del jardin que es un huerto-bosque comestible ecológico de permaculta.Hay una piscina con carpas de colores y kois.Árboles y arbustos frutales y miles de flores,también algo de huerta. La temperatura es muy agradable;en invierno hay que encender la estufa de leña.Linda con el parque natural de Sierra Nevada.Frente a casa,al otro lado del río Monachil, está "El cerro de la Encina",un asentamiento de la edad de bronce -más de 3500 años de antiguedad. Puedes hacer unos senderos preciosos partiendo desde casa,como a "Los Cahorros",con cinco puentes colgantes y un paseo refrescante junto al río entre un bosque de ribera mediterranea.
    Tengo Wifi. A 200m. hay una parada de bus. A 1km. el pueblo,Monachil. A 5km. está Granada.Quizás te podria prestar una bici.Quizás podrías dormir en una bonita tienda de campaña,tengo varias y sitios muy interesantes.
    Sólo se oyen los pajarillos y el lejano rumor del río.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here we can learn and share skills and knowledge on many topics. For example, I can teach;
    care of the permaculture garden, the vineyard, and the trees. building with wood, bamboo, lime and earth, iron welding, copper tubing or PVC, use of electrical and hand tools such as the welding machine, sander, jigsaw, drill, rotary grinder, chainsaw.
    Making wines, preserves, dehydrated fruit, jams, liqueurs, recognition and use of edible and medicinal herbs. in season we can collect mushrooms, and eat them, of course! ;-)
    If you can, you I would like you to teach me languages and/or computer skills, and whatever else you know about and would like to share.

    Aquí podemos aprender y compartir habilidades y conocimientos sobre muchos temas.
    El cuidado ecológico del huerto de permacultura,la viña,los árboles.Construcción con maderas,bambú,cal y tierra,soldar hierros y tuberias de cobre o PVC.Utilar máquinas: soldadora,lijadora,caladora,taladro,radial,motosierra.
    Hacer vinos,conservas,deshidratados,mermeladas,licores,hierbas sivestres comestibles y/o medicinales.En su época, recolectar setas.
    Si puedes me enseñas idiomas o informática.

  • Help

    Help

    I would be especially interested in someone who can help me learn more English and French and also computer skills. My gardening style is based on permaculture methods and philosophy. I have lived on this property for 17 years and have developed an abundant food forest with a great variety of fruits and vegetables as well as a bamboo growth where I grow material for some of my building projects. I am looking for someone to share the daily chores of takeing care of what has already been done continuing to develop making box gardens and installing drip irrigation. Other tasks would be taking care of the vineyard, collecting fruit to make jams, dry them or make wines. I use the weedeater and collect the material to make compost. I´m now learning to prune and graft.
    With my bamboo I have built small structures like the chicken coop, the sauna or the "hanging berries gallery". The next building project will be a greenhouse. I want to build a dry toilet, vertical gardens made of pallets, a fruit and vegetable dehydrator, a tree-hut and a chill-out bed of wood. I want to make a Granadian stone mosaic pavement with the help of a friend who does it professionally. Other pending projects are to learn to fix the roof and lime construction. Apart from all of the former, I just bought a cave in the Albaicín neighborhood and am going to restore it. Would you like to share some of my projects?

    Me vendrá bien algo de ayuda para estudiar más inglés y francés e informática.Para cuidar y hacer huertos elevados de permacultura y ponerles el riego por goteo.Cuidar la viña.Recolectar frutas para hacer mermeladas o secarlas o hacer vinos.Desbrozo y hago compost.Aprendo a podar e injertar.Con mi bambú construyo pequeñas estructuras como el gallinero,la sauna o la " galeria de las moras",la próxima será un invernadero.Con maderas deseo construir un baño seco,palet de agricultura urbana ,un secadero de frutas y verduras,una cabaña en árbol y una cama chill out.Quiero hacer un empedrado.Arreglar el tejado y construcción con cal.Y acabo de comprarme una cueva en el barrio del Albaicín y la voy a restaurar.Te apetece compartir algún proyecto?

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Castellano y un poco de Inglés y Francés.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    It is a small, comfortable house, with two bedrooms, living room, kitchen and a bathroom. There is Wifi. It is very cool in summer. In winter I light the small, wood-burning stove.
    It is accessed from the road by a paved slope to an entry gate which opens onto a wide square. At the back is the house, next to El Álamo ravine. Grapeviines and kiwis make a nice pergola. There is a walnut tree at the entrance and another next to the house, near the pool, which is surrounded by bay, pear,fig, and persimmon trees, I also have flowers all over; in pots, seahells, stones, even on tiny rafts which float around on the pool! once you leave the house\pool area, you walk into the food forest-orchard where you find cherries, strawberries, currants, raspberries , blackberries, grapes, medlars, apples, pears, olives, arbutus, edible wild herbs and more. I also have a vegetable garden. And there is the sauna.
    So there are vegetables and fruits in abundance, preserves and some wine. The rest I buy. My preference is to share the food preparation, according to our combined skills and interests.


    Es una casa pequeña,cómoda,con dos habitaciones,salón,cocina y un baño.Hay Wifi.Es muy fresca en verano.En invierno enciendo la chimenea de leña.En verano Monto alguna tienda de campaña muy cómoda,junto a la casa.
    Se accede desde la carretera por una cuesta asfaltada hasta una puerta exterior que da acceso a una placeta amplia.Al fondo está la casa,junto al barranco El Álamo.Parras y kiwis hacen una bonita pérgola.Hay un nogal a la entrada y otro junto a la casa,cerca de la piscina,que está rodeada por un laurel,un peral,una higuera,un caqui,flores y macetas.Desde ahí se accede a la huerta-bosque ecológico comestible.Que regala cerezas,fresas,grosellas,frambuesas,moras,uvas,nísperos,manzanas,peras,aceitunas,madroños,hierbas silvestres comestibles y más.También tengo huerta.Y está la sauna.
    Así que hay verduras y frutas en abundancia,conservas y algo de vino.El resto lo compro.Mi idea es cocinar los dos.Según acordemos.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am creative, spontaneous and adventurous. If you love nature, peace and quiet, like to share and enjoy good, fresh organic food, come along and I will show you my part of the world.
    Soy creativo,espontáneo y aventurero.Levo 17 años viviendo aquí.Si amas la naturaleza,la tranqulidad,te gusta compartir y el buen comer,aprovecha y yo te guiaré para conocer el entorno.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 264752463298