Help to farm sit in Algatocin, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 77 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/01/2022

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    A little bit about me ….
    I sold my beautiful house in the UK in July 2019. My dog and I set off on an adventure, to find a place to live in Portugal. Well, to cut a not very interesting story short, I ended up buying an off-grid Finca, in a rain forest in southern Spain (who knew that Spain had a rain forest?), in the Genel valley, a stunningly beautiful place with amazing views.

    I have no close neighbours and enjoy the peace & quiet, plus the views and sounds of the forest make me feel very close to nature. There is never a dull moment here, there is always something to fix, paint, chop or mend, so boredom is never an option for me.

    I live here alone with my dog (Jeff) and my two cats (Shadow & Tiger), and some great friends who come and help out from time to time. I am so grateful for the internet to maintain my connections to family & friends.

    I have 1 hectare (2.5 acres) of land and 4 semi-derelict building. My dream here is to live sustainably and grow my own organic fruit and vegetable. I already have pomegranates, fig, olives and an orange grove, as well as many other edibles I'm still discovering. My intention is to set up and run a retreat centre for health and wellbeing and online rentals to raise the money to complete the renovations.

    Free time: There is much to do here in your free time, there are wonderful walks in the forest, plus you can walk to the local village, though it is a steep climb.

    I also like to teach some foundation level shiatsu techniques, as I am a Shiatsu Practitioner/Teacher. If you have something you would like to share or exchange that would be great too. On occasions, I offer up my place to local people from around the valley to use as a healing exchange, followed by food and music/jam session. If you were here when this happens you would be welcome to join in.

    Tasks and workload: Two of the buildings are wooded and in need of repair, land clearing, gardening, building a chicken coop and general maintenance are the main tasks. If you have any particular skills or preferences please let me know and I will try to match you to a task that suits you best.

    Sleeping arrangements: There are 2 bedrooms in the main building, the two wooden building can both sleep two.

    Food: I do eat meat but I am totally respectful if you don't. Please let me know of any dietary requirement you have and I will do my very best to accommodate you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We hope you can benefit from learning about the local culture/language.
    At the Finca we have many social dinners, so the conversation is free-flowing, and learning new recipes is a given.
    Though I love the isolation at my finca, I do like to visit one of the local villages for a coffee now and again, where you could engage with locals and enjoy the stunning views across the valley.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with:
    preparing a garden for growing fruit and vegetables.
    Fencing
    Clearing vegetation (with strimmer if you have experience)
    Looking after animals occasionally
    Helping with projects
    Cooking if you can
    General maintenance
    Building a chicken house

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation will be a proper bed in individual or shared space in a room, cabin or Yurt all with woodburning stove and electricity. Food will be provided for breakfast and lunch for helpers to prepare and eat. Evening meal will be shared and a joint effort.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many walks through the forest and locals maps can be found online. There are some beautiful white villages in this area, with many different sights and festivals (sadly at this time many are cancelled because of Covid), I feel very optimistic that this will start to return to some kind of normality very soon, then we can all get back to enjoying our interactions again with people and our surroundings.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have two rooms with very good internet access, though the internet is mobile data, Wifi is not possible here.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is plenty of parking on-site with easy access to water.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Yes, if you have a friendly dog that does not chase cats I would be happy for you to bring along your furry friend. My dog is very friendly and can get on with most other animals. My cats are friendly and entertaining.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 261993135512