Architecture, SEO, Programming, or House Maintenance in Palawan, Philippines

Country

Philippines

Favourited 357 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    220

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family living on the large island of Palawan (Western Philippines) in a small coastal community where fishing is the main source of income for most families. We live on a beautiful beach in what used to be a small resort.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is an ideal opportunity for someone to, at the very minimum, live in beautiful accommodations in the Philippines, where it is generally difficult to find work that affords a comfortable 'Western lifestyle'. The rest is up to you: the more you contribute, the more you will likely benefit!

    There will be little to no expense (food, accommodation, airport/city transport, high speed Internet and some other things are free), with the opportunity to earn as well and even build a permanent future/partnership in our ventures.

    We won't be too specific about the 'number of hours required' but if you cannot manage at least 16 hours in a week then this might not be for you!

  • Help

    Help

    We can use help in the following areas:

    *️ Architecture/Structural engineer (we're building a castle!)
    *️️️️️️️ SEO and website marketing
    *️️️️️️️ Programming (HTML, CSS, Javascript, PHP, MySQL)
    *️️️️️️️ General building maintenance (carpentry, painting, roof repair, plumbing, etc.)
    *️️️️️️️ Child care

    Stefan has been running a medical website for 16 years, which really needs an expert in marketing and SEO in order to boost business. Once extremely successful, business has dropped off significantly.

    Stefan, a programmer, also has a very interesting idea for a new website, and is looking for a good programmer to become involved long-term, possibly as a partner in the business.

    If you are good at what you are doing and would like to do considerably more than the minimum amount of work, we can discuss payment and the possibility of continuing to work with us after you leave.

    Although we usually have a nanny ('yaya'), child minding is a 16-hour-a-day job, so there may be an opening for that sometimes.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Some German, Tagalog

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a beautiful beach house on the relatively unspoiled yet civilized paradisiacal island of Palawan, 75 minutes north of the main city Puerto Princesa. We have three spare rooms with a total of 4 queen-size beds.

    Our house/kitchen is 100% vegan-vegetarian; you don't need to be vegetarian but all meat/fish needs to be cooked and eaten in the outside kitchen area by the beach :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a family of 4: Stefan (American, born 1966), Angelica (Filipino, 1990), Ella (2012), and Zoë (2018).

    We go to Puerto Princesa about once a week for shopping and errands, and there are also buses to and from town at any time of the day. Palawan is a very long, thin island (roughly 300 miles long by 20 miles wide on average), very popular with backpackers and nature lovers, with several places such as the Underground River, El Nido, San Vincente, and Port Barton to explore. There is caving (spelunking), trekking, visiting native tribes, climbing, scuba diving (many coral reefs, including one just 100 meters off our beach), waterfalls, miles and miles of remote beaches, and good nightlife. The variety of wildlife (flora and fauna) in Palawan, whether birds, butterflies, snakes, lizards, other reptiles (we even have crocodiles!), fish, trees, bees, flowers -- you name it -- is simply astounding. It's a nature lover's delight.

    -- POLITICS --

    Sadly, in these politically-charged times we believe it is important to state which side of the fence one stands on, in order to avoid serious personality clashes. We are simply appalled by the hate and division now present in the U.S. and other countries, but it is nonetheless a fact of life. Although we are peace-loving vegans and vegetarians, our lifestyle does not fall under the heading of 'alternative'; we believe in 'Making America Great Again' and we do own guns for self-defense (though the Philippines is far safer than almost all American cities.) If you have any questions, do feel free to ask anything at all and we will answer openly and honestly.

    -- PERSONAL HYGIENE --

    This should go without saying, but unfortunately it doesn't always: please be neat, clean, and maintain personal hygiene. If you cannot, then sadly this is not the right opportunity for you...

    Out of our first four Workawayers, two (not you, Albert!) suffered from severe body odor that affected everyone else in the house. This caused the very awkward situation that no one wants to be in: having to tell a relative stranger that they have body odor -- and would they please do something about it. This is extremely embarrassing for everyone involved.

    We don't know the exact reason why some have this issue, but in one case it was so bad that we had to ask a Workawayer to leave after 8 days (giving them 10 more days to find another place to stay) because, despite mentioning it twice, the problem continued and we had to consider the other people in the house.

    We have many trees and receive Sea breezes all day (and cool mountain air at night), so it is usually a pleasant 25-28C (77-82F) and we do not need air-conditioning. We have many fans, for anyone who needs one. However, it is humid, and it is hotter on the road and in town.

    Our recommendations are:
    - pack enough changes of clothes
    - do laundry regularly (we have a modern, free-to-use washing machine so there is no excuse!)
    - remember that the Philippines is probably hotter and more humid than your country
    - consider increasing your bathing frequency if necessary
    - use a non-offensive deodorant/aftershave/cologne/perfume if necessary
    - aside from shorts/pants, do not wear clothes (especially underwear and tops) more than 1 day
    - always think about those around you

    Finally, this is a shared living situation and while we do have a housekeeper 6 days a week, it still takes considerable effort on our parts to shop, cook and wash up after everyone. Consider sometimes offering to do all the dishes (not just yours); offering to help chop vegetables; cleaning up after yourself; helping with the groceries, and so on.

    Thank you :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Minimum 16 hours per week, but workaholics are welcome!















Host ref number: 259837778439