Experience a rural farm in the Missouri Ozarks, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 70 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    55.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our farm is a country experience for events & lodging in the Missouri Ozarks.
    We raise Nigerian Dwarf goats, alpacas and chickens. We have 2 children, ages 8 and 15.
    We have trails, a creek, waterfall, and host guests and visitors on our property through Hipcamp and online rental.
    We have a venue that can be used for concerts, weddings, events.
    We have 2 long-term work-awayers on site in a private cabin. There is a gravel pad with an RV Electric Hookup for vans, RVs, etc. Meals will be with the other workawayers and possibly lodging with other workawayers. Our preference is a 7-10 day maximum stay.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Claire: I am fluent in Spanish. I have lived in Madrid, Spain and Guinea West Africa and traveled extensively in the U.S and Europe. I am in charge of the animals on our property. Myke (Pronounced "Mike"): I am a Montessori-trained educator and carpenter. I am in charge of the building and maintenance projects on our property, in addition to coordination the special events such as concerts and parties. I love travel, especially Ireland.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    Workawayers will be working outdoors. Trail-building, painting, mowing, gardening, weeding and using tools are skills we seek.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A cabin, with electricity, is available part-time. Plenty of space to camp. We are vaccinated and social distancing during this time. We provide groceries for breakfast/lunch and evening meals are with the other workawayers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a canoe rental outfitter nearby on Beaver Creek. You will be in a very remote setting in the Ozark hills. Trail running, mountain biking, visiting several natural areas and national forests are options. Going to town is also an option

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Electric Hookup

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    If you are traveling with your own accommodations (like a van), we can accept dogs if they prove to be safe around chickens and other livestock. Pets cannot stay in the cabins.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/day

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)






Host ref number: 256524413181