Visit the Haute-Vienne, relax and learn new skills in pleasant surroundings in Rancon, France

Country

France

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I own a rural property in France that has been a work in progress for over 15 years. It is progressing nicely, but I am always looking to improve it, add new things to the house, learn new skills etc. and/or teach some.

    The area is beautiful, and the region has developed accordingly over the same period of time. There are plenty of lakes and beaches nearby, loads of rustic villages and Limoges and Poitiers are all quite close.

    I am currently turning the barn into an entertainment area, hope to add a cob hot tub in the near future, install solar panels, complete the fifth bedroom, which will double as a basic studio and hopefully put a climbing wall in place. The garden is zen like, and is home to an orchard, so a bit of gardening knowhow is appreciated. Other odd jobs and general daily upkeep of the property are always necessary, so I'd appreciate you helping out with these tasks during the stay.

    I can guide and assist with all jobs that need doing, so have no fear about whether you think you can!

    I am English, but speak French fairly fluently...I speak a bit of Spanish and German as well.

    I would be able to offer ample accomodation, though I don't think groups of more than 5 would be a great idea...

    So basically is more or less free to stay in exchange for some help with the running of the place, though a small contribution toward overheads would be appreciated!

    I would suggest Limoges as the pick up point if either flying or arriving by train, but other options are possible.

    So...good weather, relaxing lifestyle, great food all await...

    If you like music, sports, arts, photography etc there are plenty of opportunities to do all these activities and more...

    The house has two cinema areas, so bring your own films if you'd like to enjoy them on the big screen.

    I don't mind smokers, but would prefer it's kept to the courtyard...

    If you'd like to find out more, just ask!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I qualified as a teacher, activities instructor, sports coach, chef...so most of these.

    Language skills, mostly French or English.

    I am a published photographer, journalist, song writer , academic writer and film maker...so I can help with plenty of things.

    I m quite laid back, I can help in all of these activities...so you should have no problems learning some new skills along the way.

    I've done plenty of traveling myself, so I basically try to offer what I would have wanted someone to offer me while doing so...

  • Help

    Help

    I often run it singlehanded, but is quite a big place so any help with day-to-day running is appreciated. I do most of the building / decorating / planting but again I could do with a helping hand with DIY tasks, helping in the garden, general day to day tasks.

    If you want to learn some skills on your travels, then that would be great. I don't have a minimum or maximum stay, so is pretty flexible.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Is a rural townhouse, currently with four bedrooms...soon to be five. One en suite, one with access to a downstairs bathroom and three on the top floor with a shared bathroom.

    There is room to accommodate more in other rooms quite comfortably, but I'd rather not have groups of more than 4 or 5 at any one time.

    Fresh fruit and vegetables can be harvested from the garden at certain times of year. Otherwise, I will source ingredients from elsewhere and use my culinary skills if required.

    I can sort out buffet style breakfast.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Trips to the cities are easy with a bit of planning...the local lakes and beaches are excellent with a wide range of activities on offer. Local restaurants are all good.

    Limoges has plenty to offer, and futuroscope near Poitiers is always popular.

    If you want to organise day trips etc, just discuss with me and we'll work something out.

    Rail : Bellac, Limoges, at a push Poitiers
    Airports : Limoges , Poitiers

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You would have to park outside the mairie in the village, but is not considered an issue.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Cats and dogs should enjoy the stay!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 253436188439