Join our family's handcrafting and permaculture projects - Vorarlberg, Austria

Country

Austria

new host  

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    we are a young family (baby boy felix, dad lukas, mom silvi, dog richi & cat minzi). after living and working, for several years, in vienna and linz, we decided to look for a place with more space and a lot of nature surrounding it. we found that in the western region of austria in the middle of beautiful mountains. we arrived around a year ago and started to renovate the living house. this is almost done. for this summer we are planing to build a ceramic (mainly porcelain) workshop in the barn. silvi is a specialist in porcelain and lukas is an allrounder with a materialfetish. we would like to share this place and our handcrafting knowledge with a lot of people. therefor we a planing to give courses and make the place a social hub for the region and ourselves. we have so many ideas for all the spaces but the next steps are: the guest bathroom, chickens, a bigger vegetable garden, a sauna for next winter and of course the porcelain atelier.
    if you have interests in one or some of our projects feel free to contact us.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    spend time in a scenic alpine landscape, go hiking, climbing or snowboarding in winter. live in an old woodhouse. make fire every day. learn a lot about different materials like wood, steel, earth, glass, porcelain, but also about trees, fruits, herbs, composting or maybe mountaineering?

  • Help

    Help

    at the beginning of april we need help with the terrace digging for the future permaculture garden. -we also start to grow the vegetable garden at this time, so there is a lot of work around plants.
    beside that the barn has to be detrashed. -means: there is a lot of old stuff, mostly not really usefull, to get rid off.
    also in april (after uncluttering) we start to build "windows" into the barn. if you dont have hightproblems and love woodworking - a second hand would be great!
    after that we start with the interior for the porcelainstudio. -woodworker, electricians, plumbers please come!

    there are always things to do.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    german, english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    we have a guest apartment on the first floor consisting of a kitchen with a wood and a gas stove, a sleepingroom with two beds and a piano. for now there is only running water available in the apartment but we are planing to build an own bathroom. (until then we share the master bathroom)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    the place is a bit off the main roads but connected with public transport. it is on 1000 meters sea level and one of the sunniest places in the bigger region. we try to go shopping to the city once a week by car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

it´s gonna be dirty
house
barn/atelier/workshop
view to the west
sunny terrace
view to the east
guestbedroom
richi & mizi
appartement kitchen
the barn/workshop area
silvi, luki and lixi
apple trees and the fireplace
Host ref number: 252683718116