Lake Huron Beachfront in Ontario

Country

Canada

Favourited 178 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    29  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a university professor of early childhood education, with two grown children. We all love traveling and I have hosted interns from all over the world for many years, in my Michigan home. I have a summer cottage on Lake Huron in Ontario, Canada and would like to host someone to help out while enjoying life on the beach of a Great Lake - wonderful beach, swimming, sunsets and healthy foods. The summer home is where I can usually host workaways from May through the end of October.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Benefit can come from exchanging ideas, recipes, permaculture and sustainability practices from different countries, and seeing daily life in another country.

  • Help

    Help

    I have small projects around the house and garden - cleaning, weeding and some small maintenance projects, putting up shelving, mending the deck, washing siding, etc. I expect 4-5 hours a day helping out in exchange for lodging and meals.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have two small outbuildings that are bunkhouses. One has one twin bed and electricity - you come into the main house for kitchen and bathroom, and one has a loft bed, a twin bed and no electricity. We have wireless internet, and I cook vegetarian meals - but don't mind others cooking meat if they choose. I have a dog, so must not have pet allergies. No smokers please.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I prefer young people who are in Canada or other places in North America to visit and experience what day-to-day life is about. No smokers, prefer those who like organic gardening, healthy active lifestyles. Helping out includes helping with meal preparation and dishes, light cleaning, gardening, small building projects. Couples are also ok. A stay of 7 or more days is preferable. Limited rides to town (every 3 days or so) are available. There are no laundry facilities but there is a pay laundramat in town.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)





















Host ref number: 249952282687