1 / 5

Come and join our family farm in Sydney, Australia

  • Favourited 755 times
  • Last activity: 4 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We live in Arcadia in Sydney. It is a small farm with 1 horse and a couple of dogs. I have a pool and a lovely house.
    This is a fun, busy and hectic family. Running 2 small businesses. I have a son with a disability who goes to work every day. He is easy and has a beautiful attitude and is also great fun. He is an important part of the household and it's part of the job to enjoy his company and respect him and spend time with him.

    There is some fence painting and garden work to be done on the property currently, and some "full on" cleaning.

    Its a beautiful area to live if you like animals and the nature and still want to be just 45 minutes away from the big city! You will be largely unsupervised and have plenty of independence. However I do require someone with a drivers license, a work ethic and to stay for a minimum of 2 weeks. I am not interested in anyone who just wants to stay for a few days and then move on. There is a car available at all time and weekends are free to travel or visit the city. Own room and bathroom.

    Non smoker is a requirement - and we have internet (obviously). Im vegetarian would love someone who loves to cook.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will get exposure to not only one of the greatest city’s in the world Sydney and some of the best beaches in the world. They will also be able to live in a house hold that manages a young adult with a disability and the opportunity to work with animals .

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Live in position which incorporates assisting with all aspects of the household and garden including cooking - 5 days a week. Weekends are free with access to a car. This position also includes assisting with a young disabled adult ,1 beautiful horses and 3 loving dogs.

    In an ideal world we would love someone with experience with horses although its not absolutely necessary .
    Needs to be very competent driver , self motivated with plenty of initiative and fun easy going personality and has a work ethic. You can also assist with production work if you have that capacity. This job is paid with full board.

    You would also support me in the household and the garden, driving my son, running errands and doing whatever it takes to keep the place running.
    In return you have your own room (wifi, tv), a car and 2 dogs who you can cuddle with all day.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own bedroom in a beautiful house with its own television , wifi , and access to a car . (Mercedes and landcruiser ) all meals included (great Australian produce) and small wage
    on top of all expenses and board.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Access to your own car on weekends and week days . Beautiful neighbourhoood .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Mon-friday 5 days a week (weekends off) what ever it takes

Host ref number: 249797473327

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Help with outdoor DIY help and explore the Jarrah forests near Margaret River, Australia
Help with daily family life in our home in the Yarra Valley, Warburton, Australia