Help us volunteer in a semi-rural town in Puebla, Mexico

  • Mexico
  • Favourited 353 times
  • Last activity: 25 Jul 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 1 month



  • Description


    We have very small groups, 4 to 15 students maximum per class. You will be working with children aged aged 4 – 11 years old, teens and a few young adults. Basic curriculum and textbooks will be provided and you are expected to focus on the productive language skills (speaking and writing). And you will be guided and assisted by our academic coordinator at all times.

    This is the perfect place to volunteer if you would like to live as a local. My name is Eugenia. I am an English language teacher and entrepreneur. I'm the founder of Genie, a school is in Huixcolotla, Puebla. We've been running this language center for 8 years. The center offers English language courses for kids, teenagers, and adults. We have small groups, and most of our students come from public schools in Huixcolotla. It is very important for us to keep the school running since it is the only opportunity to learn English many students have, we are the only language school in town. We would like to give our students the opportunity to learn about other cultures and practice English with native speakers or non-native speakers of English who have a high intermediate-advanced level.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is an option for people who wish to live and experience real Mexico. You would be able to know traditions and celebrations and try real Mexican food. We are surrounded by rural towns, in which you can see convents, churches, and even ruins of pyramids. We are also close to the city of Puebla (one hour), 90 minutes far from Tlaxcala, and two hours far from Mexico City. All of them are beautiful and interesting to see. Volunteering with us will give you the opportunity to know rural, semi-rural, and urban areas in central Mexico.
    My husband and I have been abroad ourselves and enjoy meeting people. We love visiting places and will happily take you around when time permits. You will also have the opportunity to learn or practice Spanish with us and our students.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are looking for someone who enjoys working with young people and likes teaching. PREFERABLY ESL/EFL TEACHERS or travelers with experience in English teaching who are fully vaccinated.
    Volunteers are required to assist our Mexican teachers in class. Your job as a foreign is to provide students the opportunity to listen, speak and practice English.
    Are you enthusiastic, energetic, friendly, creative, and easy-going? Please, contact us!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Volunteers stay with a host family or teacher's house. They´ll provide you with breakfast and lunch or a place to cook if you prefer to cook your own meals according to your preferences. Volunteers may sometimes be invited to come over to students' homes for special celebrations and meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During working days, volunteers can visit nearby towns in the morning and come back to help in the afternoon-evening. At the weekend volunteers would be able to visit cities like Mexico, Puebla, Oaxaca, or Veracruz. There is lots of cheap public transport available, then it is very easy to move around.

    Trust you are going to love your expience. Please, read the reviews!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Small pets you can have in the little house you'll be living in. This is not an option if you are staying with a host family.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 249455953446

Feedback (6)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Join our family and help us with kids in Sayulita, Mexico
Busy and fun hostel in San Cristobal, Mexico