Help us on building a productive, beautiful permaculture patch in Upwey, Melbourne, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 115 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/04/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    182

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are working on creating a food forest and edible landscape in the midst of working full time in the lovely suburb of Upwey. We are permies by heart and love anything that grows, if you are permies or love to and have experience in the garden this is the place for YOU! Our permaculture patch is a work in progress, presently in design and construction mode, so you'll be helping around the garden, with building garden beds, pathways, planting, weeding ect. We are vegetarian, except when we hatch rosters, we aren't fussed if you want to buy your own meat, we do expect you to cook every other night.

    We think we have the best of both worlds, we are on the metro train line, can get to the city in an hour but still get to wake up to hearing the birds sing and watch the sunset over the Dandenong Ranges.

    We are looking to create a very diverse garden including natives, fruit, vegetables, nuts, tea and a small group of animals. At the moment we have chickens, rabbits a small vegetable patch, a herb area, some natives, a lot of Eucalyptus trees and lawn. Therefore, we try and balance the maintenance of the current system, while slowly introducing new elements. In practice, that means we spend a lot of time cutting grass, cutting wood, planting and watering new additions to the garden. We would hope that you will help us with these more mundane tasks and assist us with some exciting new projects such as building water features, building new garden beds, putting in staircases and identifying and recording all the species on the property. Often the work is physical.

    On your days off there is easy access to the city, you can explore the local National Parks, or enjoy the balcony. We're happy to give you plenty of guidance for stuff to do - but more importantly we want to hear about what you discover!

    As we are often both working and can only host one couple/person at a time, our place is more suited to couples or people who are happy to work alone. Like most hosts we get alot of requests so if you are really interested in staying with us, let us know why, as generic emails mostly get generic rejection responses :/

    BTW we don't have a TV!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are avid travellers ourselves and have decided to settle for a little while and practice on making a lifestyle we don't need a holiday from. Therefore we love meeting new people, learning new things and sharing our lives and stories too. We hope you'll learn or teach us more, about anything and everything. We are also pretty savvy on things to do in Aus because we've travelled a lot of it!

  • Help

    Help

    We alternate between cooking so expect you to cook every other night, if you can't cook and aren't interested in learning maybe look elsewhere! Gardening, tasks that involve physical labor

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double bed in private room, private bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Upwey is located in the Dandenong ranges which is beautiful part of the Melbourne hills, 1000 steps and puffing Billy are very close and enough pubs to keep you well watered! We've previously volunteered at a few places when we backpacked Europe recently, so we like to think it gives us a fair idea of what you hope a host should be like.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 247825257243