Join our farm and experience authentic rural life in South Kilkenny, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 125 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi. My name is Michael, together with my parents we run a family farm in south Kilkenny, not far from Waterford city. We have a dairy herd, milked by a Lely Robot, a suckler to beef herd and we also grow barley, oats and fodder beet.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workawayers will learn all aspects of farming in Ireland, we are a modern farm and are continually trying to improve what we’re doing. Also the culture of living in Ireland, the south east of the country where we live has so much to offer..

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    The main tasks on the farm will be looking after the dairy herd and general upkeep of the dairy shed. Other general farmer work will include bedding and feeding calf’s and cattle, helping with fencing and other farm tasks.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers will stay in the family home, they will have there own bathroom as they will have en suite bedroom with a double bed and all meals will be provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lots to see and do in Ireland, Kilkenny castle, Waterford Viking triangle, various hiking trails, Waterford greenway to name just a few.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Some days when we're not so busy, there will be time for workawayers to work on there own projects. Hi Speed wireless internet access is available throughout the house.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 246718681416