Magical Old Farmhouse near Crozon, Brittany, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 566 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    77  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    89.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 19 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English family living on a former Breton cider farm set in 40 acres which is both our home and 5 gîtes for summer visitors.

    We are surrounded by beautiful countryside and stunning beaches (20 beaches within 30 minutes of our home), the nearest beach is a 5 minute car drive. We are set in the middle of the National Park d`Armorique and the cities of Brest and Quimper are 45 minutes away.

    We have five gîtes and outbuildings, which we let to summer guests.

    We have a large kitchen garden, which we are keen to exploit to its full potential. We would really like some help with this part of our garden, and also with hedge trimming, strimming and general weeding of the flowerbeds.

    We all work at full pelt during our summer season, and we need some help with our housework and keeping on top of our domestic chores whilst we run our business. We would welcome help to complete our own house, so carpentry, masonry and DIY skills are very welcome - particularly in the autumn and spring months. We also work on various projects - upcycling furniture and developing new areas of the garden during the out of season months.

    We are busiest at the weekends, but during the week there's plenty of opportunity and flexibility for time off exploring the beaches, surfing, paddleboarding, kayaking, walking, visiting the markets, fest nozes and music events as well as time for socialising at home.

    We are homeschooling a 14 year old who would really like some help with his French speaking, so we would be pleased to host fluent French speakers.

    We have two small dogs.

    We prefer our Workawayers to stay for 3 weeks where possible.

    We welcome couples, or friends travelling together as well as individuals.

    We're happy to cater for different dietary needs.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love the area of France that we live in - there are lots of places to visit for walking and exploring the outdoors. There are lots of music festivals, Breton Dancing and local markets to see. Chez nous it's much more of an English affair so if you're looking for help in developing your English skills come and join us! We really enjoy exchanging life experiences, stories and things learned along the way. It's great when we have volunteers from different nationalities and backgrounds together.

  • Help

    Help

    There is never a shortage of things to do including general maintenance of the gardens and grounds, household chores and laundry. In early spring and late autumn we embark on various projects. In September we have a need for people with carpentry and joinery, DIY, building, tree-felling and gardening skills.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have 4 small caravans sited in a private corner of the kitchen garden - away from guests and our personal accommodation with a seating and barbecue area for volunteers use. Caravans are equipped as private bedroom areas for volunteers and a wet room, shared kitchen and dining areas situated in a separate building with wifi, and a place to chill out. Some lunchtime and evening meals are communal and some are separate; breakfast is a 'help yourself' affair.
    Tents and camper vans are also welcome.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of beaches and beautiful countryside to explore. Springtime is a peaceful quiet time to explore the area so if you like being off the beaten track you'll love it! There are lots of watersports in the area - bodyboarding, kayaking, surfing as well as hiking, cycling and lots of summer events and music festivals. Brest and Quimper are both an hour away by by bus. Getting here couldn’t be easier. From Brest or Quimper railway station a coach goes to Camaret-sur-mer, and passes through our village of Argol. (2 Euros) They normally run once in the morning and once in the afternoon from both cities. Brest and Quimper are main line railway stations and also served by OuiBus from Paris.
    Public transport on the Presqu'ile is not abundant so trips need planning. Most volunteers use a combination of buses, ride-share, lifts and hiking to explore.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 25 hours, 5 days a week

White Charlie and his harem
Cabaret sur mer
Home to bed...
Jock and Sally and Scruffy
The restored windmill at Telgruc sur mer
The pool and gites
Peace, solitude and time to breathe...
Workaday fun on crepe night
Our fairy glade....
Autumn kitchen tasks!
Workaway caravan accommodation.
The magnificent Pont de Terenez at the entrance to the Presqu'ile de Crozon.
Beautiful views and lots of coastal walks - Verryach.
The farmhouse
























































Host ref number: 245816349776