Come and stay with our warm, social family in Heist-op-den-Berg, Belgium

Country

Belgium

Favourited 178 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    57.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ##AS FROM TODAY LOOKING FOR A GARDENING FANATIC OR A SPRING CLEANING WIZARD, CONTACT US FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT THE HELP!##


    Who are we?

    I am Julie, a Waldorf high school teacher and a horse trainer and my husband is a contractor. We are both almost 30 years old.
    We have a 18 month old baby. After many travels and different projects we are now settling down. We bought and old farmhouse and some land, both in very bad shape. We hope to renovate the house in a sustainable way and use the land to slowly become self-sufficient. This is a long term goal and it will take many years to achieve it.

    This year we also started a cutflower business!
    We do everything ourselves.

    So we need help.

    We decided to look for someone (or 2) using workaway because we used the site ourselves to travel around and we really loved it.

    Are you fond of helping in the garden, on the land, with horses or building work, or a combination of all of them?

    Are you a respectful honest and kind person?

    Are you willing to work hard?

    Contact us!

    What can you expect?

    You will have your own room and bathroom and you can use the living spaces. We expect you to keep your room clean and pitch in on normal housework.

    You will get 3 proper meals a day, we like wholesome, local, vegetarian food with a lot of taste. We both like to cook so you won’t have to worry about getting hungry.

    The amount of tasks is endless and there are different things to do every day, you will not get bored. We ask you to help 5 hours a day, some days there will be more help than other days. We will talk about which two days you would like to be free, sometimes it is easier for us if you take your free days during the week.

    We live in a tiny village, there is a bakery, a flower shop, and a supermarket. You can use a bike to get around. It’s a 20 minute bike ride to a bigger town, where you have a shopping street, restaurants, bars,… Antwerp is 30minutes away by train.
    We expect every volunteer to have a valide travel/healthinsurance. Please bring the necesairy documents!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live a warm family and social life. We like to have company around and to exchange ideas and share meals. We live our lives mostly outside in summer, working in our garden and with our animals. It is a hard working but rewarding lifestyle in which we like to include helpers willing to help and learn. We live in a small town but big cities like Antwerp, Brussels and Leuven are easy to reach with public trasportation.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    What kind of help is there to do?

    Seasonal garden help. At the end of the winter we will start preparing the vegetable garden. We hope to slowly become self-sufficient in terms of vegetables and fruits.

    Taking care of the animals, we have a dog, chickens and 10 horses. They all need to be fed and there are some stable tasks. The heavy stable tasks, like mucking, we will do together. The horses need to be turned out in to the fields and if you have some experience riding or lunging you can help train the horses. We keep dressage horses, brood mares and foals. They can all use a lot of caring and attention. If you don’t like horses, don’t worry, there are more than enough other tasks to do.

    Taking care of the land. Maintain the fences, clean the fields, remove weeds, fence new pastures,…

    Building tasks. We are always renovating, so if you are handy that would be great!

    Don’t worry if you would only like to do some of these tasks. Send us an email (french, english dutch) and we will talk about it.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two attic rooms, they are basic but cosy. Helpers can also use a private bathroom. We can also provide a very beautifull spot for camping.

    At night we will have an elaborate vegetarian meal together. We will provide ingredients for breakfast and lunch. In the weekend we try to eat more meals together.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













Host ref number: 245357651146