Help in the garden, eco-project and language practice in Mayo. Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/03/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    WE DON'T NEED HELP FOR THE MOMENT. WE ARE FULL UNTIL DECEMBER 2019. ONCE THE MOBILE HOME IS FIXED, WE'LL BE ABLE TO WELCOME MORE PEOPLE, BUT WE DON'T KNOW WHEN YET. WE'LL UPDATE ASAP.

    Hi,
    We are a couple in their mid thirties and we are renovating a family home in county Mayo. I'm Julie, I'm French and a Business student. I also study German so German speakers very welcomed. Sean, my husband is a local man and works in construction, he has also studied construction management and sustainable energy. We have a lovely dog named Hugo, he loves people. He 's a mixed breed dog, Corgi, Jack Russel, border collie and other terrier. We like to walk, read, play board games, card games, historical buildings, going to the cinema, theatre, listening to music, going to the pub and nature. I practise mindfullness. I'm an atheist and Sean is Catholic. We respect all religion. I've started to sew and knit but so far I'm not very good at it. I also like taking photos while walking around.
    We have several projects . We are doing everything ourselves and that's why we need help. We can start welcoming people from July 2019.
    We are currently renovating a house from the 1950s. We are currently living in it but it still needs a lot of work: no electricity, no water, dampness... But, thanks to the help of familly and friends, we don't need much help with this house apart from occasional touch of paint, help with decoration (curtains, lampsheds, wall stickers, frames, etc.).
    We will mostly need your help in the garden. We'd like to be more self sufficient but it is not easy. We intend to have an organic vegetable garden and an orchad. We also intend to get chicken and pigs. We also intend to fix the field stone. In some sections stones were removed to let cattle go from field to field.
    Eventually, we intend to restore a 200 years old cottage exactly as it was, using the techniques of that time. Unfortunately, this project won't start soon as we concentrate on the garden and house first.

    We are looking for people with skills that can help us or people willing to learn.
    As much as our dog is friendly with humans, he doesn't get on very well with other dogs (a typical Alpha male :-) ). So sorry, we cannot accept pets.
    Please, arrival and departure on weekends Only.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love meeting new people and we love our region and know it well. We'll be happy to share our culture and to learn yours. At weekends, you will share our daily routine and activities or teach us some new ones.
    This can also be a language exchange, we can help you with your English and French, we can teach you basic Irish and I would love to be able to practice my German and Irish.
    You can also learn skills about organic gardens and self-sufficiency. We also hope to learn skills from workers with more experience.

  • Help

    Help

    Sean usually works one week and he's off the next one.
    You will be helping helping during the week when Sean is off; Monday to Thursday 14h-18h with tea break at 16h. We relax at weekends and you'll be able to share our activities. When Sean is working, you'll be working on Saturdays or Sundays (depending on weather); 10h-13h and 14h30-18h with tea break at 16h. So you'll be working a total of 20 hours in 2 weeks.

    We will need different type of help depending of time of year, the weather (unpredictable) and how we advance on our projects. This is an non-exhaustive list:

    Genral maintenance
    Touch of paint here and there
    Using power washer (eg karcher)
    Fixing stone walls
    Fencing
    Digging to uncover old paths
    Using cob (for animal housing and part of fencing)
    Triming trees and bushes
    General Gardening
    Plowing, Sowing, Harvesting
    Planting fruit trees
    Feeding animals (only chicken at the moment)
    Minding the dog ("attention seeker" is his middle name)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, German, Irish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in a mobile home beside our house. We can welcome individuals, couple or two friends not bothered by sharing the same bed. You will have your own separate open plan living area: own entrance door, double bed, dining table, sofa, small wardrobe, presses, TV, DVD player, small computer, selection of books and DVDs. Bed linen and towels are furnished.
    Unfortunately the mobilehome has been damaged during a storm and I'm not sure when it will be usable again, I'll update as soon as possible. So accomodation for now will be a spare room in our home with 2 single beds.

    We recommend that you came with you're own vehicle or rent one as we live in an isolated area. We have one bike that need to be repaired if interested. We can drop you in town and pick you back up during your timeoff in accordance with our timetable, so it can be early in the morning and late evening.

    Internet

    You can have access to the Internet via Vodafone mobile broadband. Tarifs are: €20 for 7.5GB to be used within 28 days, €10 2GB to be used within 7 days, €3 for 500MB to be used in one day. You will have your own computer in the mobile home. We will be able to print your boarding pass.
    If staying in the spare room, you will be able to share our wifi connection.

    Food

    You will be on self-catering from Monday to Friday. The kitchen is fully equiped (cooker, oven, small fridge).
    You will share lunch and dinner with us on weekends and we'll prepare an Irish breakfast for your first Sunday with us, this is not compulsory as some people just cannot eat that type of food in the morning (rasher, black and white pudding, sausages, egg, hash brown, mushrooms, tomatoes, beans in tomatoe sauce, toasts and Irish tea).
    If staying in the spare room, you will be in fullboard. You might have to prepare your own lunch but food will be provided.
    I will cook Irish and French meals. I can adapt cooking to suit your diet restrictions. You are welcome to cook a traditional dish from your region. Also, we are reductionists; we believe that we are eating too much meat in our modern societies. So Fridays are vegetarian in our home. We also follow a vegetarian diet during lent (40 days before Easter), but you don't have to follow if you don't want to.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live beside Westport in County Mayo. Westport is a beautiful town along the Wild Atlantic Way and is very lively: lot of pubs, restaurants, shows, festival, music and a cinema. It also have several supermarkets (Tesco, Liddl, Supervalu, Centra). County Mayo is a very beautifull county with a lot to do and see! Beautiful scenery, lakes, mountains, beaches, cliffs: Croagh Patrick, Clew Bay, Achill Island, Bangor, Ballycroy National Park, Lough Mask, Doolagh Valley, Lough Mask, Asleigh falls, Tourmakeady Woods and Waterfall, Ballina, Killalla beach... It is also rich with History and there are many old building to explore: Westport House, Moore Hall, Ballintubber Abbey, Moyne Abbey, Ceide fields, Museum of Country life, Cong Abbey, Ashford Castle and much more. You can enjoy the Greenway by cycling or walking, you can go surfing. There is things to do that will cover any taste, check for more details. We love our county and will be pleased to help you discover it. Also, the Connemara and Joyce country are not too far.
    You might also just walk around the home with views on Croagh Patrick, Nephin and the Partry Mountains.

    Transports:

    We live in an isolated area and we recommend that you came with your own vehicle or that you rent a car. That way, you will be able to enjoy County Mayo Fully.
    There are trains and/or busses available from Westport to Dublin, Galway and Sligo.

    To come to our place:
    - From Knock airport, take a bus to Castlebar or Westport. Knock airport is the closest airport but routes are limited.
    - From Dublin airport:
    1- Bus eireann to Castlebar or Westport (not direct)
    2- airlink to Heuston station then Train to Castlebar or Westport
    3- go bus to galway then bus eireann to Castlebar or Westport
    - by ferry : you will arrive at Dublin port, Rosslare or Cork/Cobh. The companies available are : Irish ferries, Stena Lines and Britanny Ferries.

    We will pick you up at Castlebar or Westport train/bus station and give you a lift back. Please arrival and departure on weekends only.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours per fortnight (2 weeks)


Host ref number: 244875851839