Live in a rural location helping with rescue animals and restoration of a ruin in Almeria, Southern Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 85 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/06/2021

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family living in a rural location with 7 hectares of land in Albox, Almeria, Southern Spain. I am a teacher teaching online so working from home a lot. I have a 21 year old daughter who lives and works in the local town and a 16 year old son who still lives at home with us. When we came to Spain three years ago we began volunteering at a local dog rescue charity on a Sunday as a family activity. Now we have accumulated a few rescues of our own! We currently have 17 dogs, 2 donkeys, 4 guinea pigs, 4 chickens and 1 cat. Everyone of our animals has been rescued either from a sanctuary, the local perreras or the street. All neglected and abandoned at some point in their life- some quite ill and needing love and care to nurse them back to life and restore their faith in human beings. There is also a ruin on the land that we are looking to slowly restore to its natural glory- this is where I would like the workaways to concentrate their efforts. We get no financial aid to support our ever growing menagerie but would go with out to ensure they get everything they need. We are looking for someone/couple to come and lend a hand to care for the animals- feeding, walking, grooming, mucking out and with the restoration of the ruin.We are 40 minutes from the beautiful seaside resorts of Mojacar, Garrucha and Vera, and hour from Cabo de Gata and 2 1/2 hours from Sierra Nevada. To take this post you MUST love ALL animals- big and small and be 100 % committed to their love and care and able to work in a manual labour capacity.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in Southern Spain which has a wealth of culture and local attractions- Saliente Monastry is a short drive away, with Granada and its rich history a few hours away too. Although our postal code is Albox town, we are closer to Taberno which is a typical Spanish town with bars, supermarket and fiesta throughout the year. The area is a rural , mountainous area- ideal for walkers and those moments of solitude and contemplation. My children are fluent Spanish speakers but I´m learning the language and would be happy to include anyone in this process- if you are interested of course.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone/couple to come and lend a hand to care for the animals- feeding, walking, grooming, mucking out and with the restoration of the ruin. The main element of your work would be on the ruin so someone with construction, building, plumbing, electrical experience would be great

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am a TEFL teacher and would like to learn Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have sole use of a 4 berth caravan with cooking facilities, heater and fridge. There are also toilet facilities but you would need to use the family bathroom for showering needs. To the exterior of the caravan there is an outdoor seating area and BBQ (twin gas hob also) with a fire pit that you are also free to use. There is an 4 seater jacuzzi at the main property but this is operational dependent on the time of the year. WIFI is also included. Breakfast, lunch and evening meal will be provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 244522254515