Looking for someone that can help on the homestead. We live on a remote island in Southeast Alaska

Country

United States

Favourited 282 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a family operated oyster farm and live on an island homestead in Southeast Alaska. We are a couple in our 50's with a teenager at home.It is isolated here with no shops, and only a few other people. There are lots of opportunities to enjoy pristine Southeast Alaskan views. We travel to town with our boat or skiff about once every two weeks. We have a couple of cats, a dog, and ducks and geese. We try to eat as much home grown or harvested food as we can, though we get bulk staples occasionally.

    We live right next to and work on the water, but also have a garden and acreage for those who rather walk.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our visitors usually learn much about themselves, after living in a world so very different than their own.

  • Help

    Help

    We are interested in someone that can help on the homestead. We live on a remote island and travel to town infrequently.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Share a three room cabin. There is a small kitchen for preparing food, though most meals can be eaten at the main house. The front room is a few feet from the ocean and has a stunning view.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Air travel is to Ketchikan, Alaska (KTN) then on float plane via Taquan Air to Marble Island. The travel is expensive - but well worth it, for many people. Please contact us before making any travel arrangements.

    We move toward self-sufficiency as a way of life. We grow, eat and sell premium whole foods and avoid processed "foods".

    For entertainment while here you can hike, skiff, fish, harvest plants, berries, mushrooms to eat, and enjoy music, games, or movies.

    We have lived in this area of Alaska for many years. This is our way of life; not a vacation/retirement hobby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Harvesting garlic.
Tiger.
Garden salad still in the garden!
European exchange students with a nice halibut.
Hardening beach with market size oysters layed out in bags.
oyster farm floating processor.
Canning beach asperagus.










Host ref number: 242825947469