Help with organic gardens in County Wicklow, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 65 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/12/2020

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in a farmhouse on our own land in County Wicklow with my German partner and our three children. Other family members live nearby. We grow organic vegetables and have recently developed flower gardens, which is where the help is needed

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Farmstay help

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be able to improve your language skills and teach us your language. You will experience other cultural events in the area for example traditional Irish music etc.
    Nearest Irish Pub is about 15 minutes cycle.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for 2 people (or a couple) to help in the gardens with weeding and other general help in & around the flower gardens and farm. We can teach you some organic farming techniques.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have accommodation in a room in a log house, sharing with another farm helper. Living area, kitchen & bathroom are communal. Alternatively, we have a small self contained studio apartment which might be suitable.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your time off you are free to explore the ancient East of Ireland and all its beauty spots. We are only 10 km from the nearest mainline bus and 25km from the nearest train station. There is the possibility to cycle, walk and hike. There are lovely walks in the Wicklow hills and the “Wicklow Way” runs nearby.
    We have a wood fired pizza oven and have regular pizza parties along with a tennis court, hot tub and sauna.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 239481662698