Come help us with the farm work in the heart of Istria, Croatia

Country

Croatia

updated  

Favourited 69 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I live in a small Croatian village on the Istrian peninsula. He is 40 years old and a former programmer, and I am 30 and a former graphic designer. We also have a dog that lives with us. We are peaceful people who enjoy nature but we also like to go out and have fun when time allows us. When the schedule is busy we must wake up early before the heat of the day arrives. So during that time we go to bed earlier.

    We live in a 120 years old stone house that was built by my ancestors. The house is old with some recent reconstruction but it is full of charm.

    The location itself is fantastic! An oasis of deep green forests in the very center of Istria. We are perfectly located in the center so that beaches and cities are very close in all directions.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We'd like you to connect with the nature and local tradition that surrounds us.

    I myself enjoy cooking a lot so I can share with you and teach you many traditional recipes. I am a vegetarian but I know how to prepare meat dishes and don't have a problem handling the meat.

    We are both interested in masonry which is a main building technique in this area and are happy to show you the basics.

    My husband loves history and is a great teacher. He will gladly tell you all about this area and it's past.

    In Croatia it is very common to sell your homemade products from your doorstep. Our guests always enjoy visiting small farms with us and learning about local produce and of course the best part of it is supplying with delicious homemade cheeses, olive oil, wine, brandy, etc.

  • Help

    Help

    We are always working on new projects like carpentry, logging, clearing overgrown parcels, planting, harvesting, etc. This work does require you to be fit and physically stronger.

    We will provide work gloves for you but we ask you to bring your own work boots, wide sun hats and sunscreen SPF30+.

    When we are busy doing the fieldwork we really need help in the kitchen. So if you are passionate about cooking you are more than welcome in our home. :)

    Some things we do are also very new to us so we are happy to receive advice and knowledge from you!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom with a queen size bed, second semi private room with a single size mattress, tent in our yard or a parking space for your camper.

    You will be sharing the bathroom and kitchen with us and you will have unlimited access to it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Besides teaching you all the cool stuff at the farm, we also want you to explore this beautiful peninsula and to have fun.

    During the summer there are countless festivals in this area. There are also countless beaches around here. So, besides helping us you will certainly get the time to enjoy! You can go explore Roman ruins in Pula, or visit stunning Rovinj with is beautiful narrow streets. And for more adventurous types there is plenty of hiking trails in Istria too.

    If you will not have your transportation we will gladly give you a ride to the nearby bus stop. Busses in this area are limited but it is possible to plan day trips. Car rentals are also quite cheap especially if booked in advance.

    My husband and I traveled all over the world for quite a bit before we settled in this charming village. We love meeting people from different countries and learn about their culture and lives. We enjoy good food, wine and good company!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 237279272527