Beautiful home full of history welcomes some TLC in Verteillac, France

Country

France

Favourited 35 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Currently my husband and I occupy our Maison de Maitre - I have organised and hosted celebrated residential creative workshops at our venue for the last 12 years though obviously not for the last 2 . My husband (a wine expert) is now retired but still boasts a large cellar of fine wines and is a very knowledgable gardener having designed and planted our now mature gardens. Our general property caretaker, Danny, has been with us for about 8 years and lives in one of our barns. Our extended family travel over from the UK to visit us throughout the summer months and we hope to be hosting one of our Blues & Boogie concert in September.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our gardens were planted by us and are now full of rare and unusual plants. My husband is a very experienced gardener and would be more than happy to teach what he knows. We are situated in the very heart of the Dordogne with many historic towns and villages with their beautiful and lively markets, music and traditions. Our closest village, Verteillac - about a 15 min walk from us - is the liveliest in the area with several cafes, a boulangerie, post office and general store.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We have approx 2 acres of mature gardens and buildings that need maintenance over the summer months. We already have one full-time helper, but he could use some extra help during the summer

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own bedroom with en suite, separate cooking facilities if required or eat with family. Use of pools, table tennis and other sports facilities.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Famously beautiful venue in S W France full of history. Access to car if full driving licence available, swimming pool bicycles and all mod cons. Opportunity to visit local historic sites, go rock climbing, trekking, relax in the gardens or go for long walks. Occasional rental of one of the barns means there is a turnaround of visitors and we also have family and friends staying over the summer months.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is plenty of space for a car or camper van to park

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 235695734162