Volunteer at our Beef/Dairy farm in Queensland, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/04/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a Beef/Dairy farm in the South Burnett region, Qld. The farm is owned by my brother but we work it together. We are the 3rd generation to be working this farm. The farm is undulating hills and creek flats with creeks traversing the blocks. It is an escape to the country. Excellent for star watching as there are no interfering lights. close to National Parks, wineries, Public Recreation Dams --Bjelkie Peterson, Gordonbrook and about 75 mins from Boondooma where you can boat, fish or swim.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They could benefit from our experience with many overseas people and our ability to show a little of the Australian way of life and the perculular sayings that make Australians what we are. We also love to learn about people from other countries and their ways of life and also we are keen to try foods and recipes from their countries. They have gone to the effort to come all this way from their country, I feel it is our responsibility to learn from them what they want to share with us about where they are from. i enjoy collecting foreign coins and learning about them.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a variety of tasks to do on the farm. Everything from milking cows (small, non commercial herd), handling livestock, help feeding calves,pigs,poultry. goats & domestic pets Fence and machinery maintenance, painting - various walls within the house, gardening - vegitable and flowers Sharing in cooking and house work.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Caravans /Room in house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    They are encouraged to eat in the house with whoever is here. When they have time off, there are many place where they can go walking , bird watching, swimming ( water permitting). If they have their own vehicle then there are wineries with Cellar Door meals and tastings, National Parks, Historical sites and buildings, Visitor Information Centres in all the surrounding towns. There is little local public transport, but with prior arrangement they may be able to get a lift to town ( If on a non normal town day - then money for fuel would be appreciated ( emergencies are a different matter)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 235646342453