Come stay with our family and help around the house while experiencing California (near San Francisco), USA

Country

United States

Favourited 683 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    63.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 28 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a busy family of 5. Two working professionals and 3 kids, ages 15, 7, and 5 years old. We love to travel, but because of the little ones stay mostly local these days, so instead happy to have travelers come to us. Our kids are fun and energetic. We have a great community and love having friends over often.

    We live in a beautiful area of California. It's a small, quiet town, but close to San Francisco and Berkeley, with decent public transportation (good by American standards) so you can get around and explore but have a safe, quiet base to come home to.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A chance to explore a beautiful part of the country, and of course practice speaking English. There are many other workaways nearby so it's easy to make friends from around the world and explore together.

  • Help

    Help

    A mix of light cooking, cleaning, and errands. In addition would love language practice/teaching if you speak Mandarin.

    During weekdays we're all at school/work, so most often would like help in the late afternoon/evenings and weekends - cooking dinner and cleaning up after, helping out in evening if husband is working late, helping my husband around the house on the weekend if I'm working...

    We're also open to other ideas if you have particular skills or interests that could be helpful. (For example if you're a great organizer, our house can use some help. If you have a green thumb we'd love to grow some vegetables in the yard...) Basically helping me manage our sometimes chaotic household. If you can speak Mandarin or Turkish to the kids and/or cook Turkish food a plus!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Turkish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room in our house. We live in a great place, it's a small island (Alameda) with views of San Francisco and the bay. We're just a few blocks walk from the ferry to San Francisco, and bus lines run near the house for travel around the bay area. It's quiet, safe, lots of walking and bike paths along the bay and lagoons. (We can provide a bike for you to use.) It's a quiet suburb, but 30-40 minutes from San Francisco and Berkeley, 5 minutes from Oakland. Also, there are a number of other workaways and au pairs staying in the neighborhood, so you'd have adventure/travel buddies to explore with if desired.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours per week, schedule flexible

our local beach
the bridge to our little island
walk on the beach (by our house) with daddy
big sister's homemade swing
the little ones
the walking/biking path around the island (with views of San Francisco and the bay)











Host ref number: 235555698124