Help transform 2 acres of high desert land in Silver City, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 118 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1637

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have 2 acres of worn out land I'm trying to build the soil on, and rainwater contour in order to grow whatever food is possible. There is a large garden and other areas I'm trying to improve with native grasses and other plants. I've also put in some fruit trees and herb gardens. I have been growing an ancient strain of Hopi blue corn, and hope to add indigenous squash and grey beans for a seed-saving project.
    As a person, I am older (66), a psychologist, writer, teacher, nature lover, Sufi-Buddhist and I share my house with 2 cats and a crazy basset hound. I believe in cooperative living principles, kindness and honoring the earth (no chemicals).
    I am a 49 year vegetarian, so guests will need to eat vegetarian here, though they can eat whatever they want in town. We would share meals, but I cannot always cook, so you would need to pitch in there too.
    I volunteer with a local wilderness conservation group, so I can include you in some of our work, but mainly I need help with the garden and land.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    SW New Mexico is a unique culture that blends Latino, Old West, environmental and other subcultures. I regularly attend environmental and LGBTQ activities (as an ally), and workers would be welcome to come with me. There are horse and alpaca farms nearby, so workers would have opportunities to interact with them and learn about their work.
    I write poetry and have published 2 books, as well as many psychological articles. I'm can offer writing feedback if desired.
    As a psychologist, I am an expert on relationships and groups. My theoretical base is Interpersonal Systems Theory, my own theory that I taught at 2 colleges, so would be glad to share what I know. IST emphasizes communication, cooperation and spatial awareness to enhance balance, mutuality and peace.

  • Help

    Help

    I am working to turn 2 acres of high desert land into low water food gardens and meditation/sitting areas.
    This is a south-facing, scrubby piece of land, but it has great trees and great views. Worker would create growing beds on a hillside, plant trees and vines, and create paths and sitting areas using rocks when possible, Organic gardening skills would be a plus, but they are not required.
    Helpers must clean up after themselves and not leave messes in common areas. Some help would be appreciated in cleaning up after meals and after use of the bathroom.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Helpers would share a private bedroom with good natural light, and have primary use of guest bath. We share the kitchen and social areas. If a couple or family is involved, they will need to all share one full bed. There is also a camping spot if you want to rough it.
    I will provide enough food for 3 vegetarian meals a day to each volunteer. Sometimes I will cook, based on your preferences, and sometimes you will need to cook for yourself, but can use my food. I'm also willing to give cooking lessons as we prepare meals.
    We are 2 miles from town, so workers will need to bring their own wheels, whether motorized or not.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are bordering on the wilderness, so hiking and exploring areas are right down the road, as well as all around us. My house will be within walking distance (1 mile) of the Continental Divide Trail, once it is finished. Our nearby town of 10,000 is fairly progressive, with arts, music, theatre and environmental activities (pre and post covid, not so much now).
    My experience with supervising people is not huge, but I believe in talking things out so that each feels OK about the outcome.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Wifi is decent, but sometimes its strength varies. It's always there though. There's a great porch for writing.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Not huge, but most RV's would fit.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs must never be aggressive or chase cats.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours a week












Host ref number: 235135271573