Help with landscaping and maintenance projects at the foothills of the Rothaar Mountains in Medebach, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 72 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    159

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4 of which 2 are studying right now. We have a piece of land 2.25 hectares in Germany on which we build a Strawbalehouse and two guesthouses (loghouses). We did landscaping, planted over 2000 trees and are turning it into a little paradise.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you want, I can tell you all about what we've done here on our project including landscaping, the built of the strawbalehouse and the loghouses, the trees and plants, etc. I also can share my knowledge about permaculture design or permaculture in general, which are the basics of what we do here.

  • Help

    Help

    We can accommodate helpers for shorter periods during weekdays. We have various work to be done in the garden and on the land and around the houses. Experience is not necessary but desirable...

    We ask a volunteering commitment of of 5 hours per day for at least 3 days.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As accommodation we offer a luxurious guesthouse which can accommodate up to 8 people (4 sleeping rooms. It's a loghouse with a kitchen, two bathrooms, large television and dvd player, wifi, sauna, terraces around the house, carport for 2 cars, shed for bikes and ski's... and an amazing view over the fields into the hills. Strictly no smoking inside the house and no animals/pets. The house is primarily heated with solar, but if there's no sun then you have to use the wood stove. We don't use fossil fuels for heating.

    Food and drinks are of course included. Separate or joint food preparation and eating in consultation. If you have special food needs (vegetarian, vegan, allergy), please let us know.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our house and land are at the foothills of the Rothaargebirge in Nordrhein Westfalen in the western part of Germany at about 370m above sea level and is surrounded by farmland, mountains and forests. The highest peaks here are over 800m above sea level. The Sauerland offers amazing opportunities for hikers, mountain bikers, skiers (alpine, cross country. Winterberg is close by) and also for nature lovers and on Saturday for partypeople in Willingen (20km). In normal winters there's snow in the mountains from half december until the end of March. In the summer the local climate is dryer and sunnier then average because of the special location of our house behind the mountains.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    We ask for motivated helpers who are willing to help us a substantial but reasonable part of the day max 25 hours, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 234768959561