Help with gardening, small repairs and painting near Oslo, Norway

  • Favourited 21 times
  • Last activity: 2 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple (age 62 and 68) living in a farm. My husband works in Oslo within management and I work as an academic. We have higher education and urban background. We have two children who live and work in Oslo. We are international and speak english, french, norwegian as well as turkish and german.

    We will have cozy dinners (resturant quality according to our last workawayers) and coffee breaks together with freshly baked cakes in order to secure the socialization, team spirit, have fun and cultural exchange. For the other meals, we will keep your fridge stocked. We eat mediterranean and norwegian food.

    We speak english or norwegian depending on which language you would like to improve/learn. If you are planning to move to Norway, we will be helping you with CV, applications etc.

    The farm is situated close to Oslo (1 hr by train or car) and close to the forest and small lakes with possibility for fishing, swimming. It is very peaceful and the nature is amazing. We are both triple vaccinated and offer our workawayers individual apartments or rooms with private bathroom, kitchen.

    We dont run a business in the farm, we have just enjoyed living here. We have an old in-door cat and no farm animals. We have a greenhouse and grow some vegetables. However, we have facilities for horseriding and some various buildings (guesthouse, storage, stables etc) and 37.000 sqm land. We live by the forest with nice walking opportunities. There is an excellent train connection to Oslo and we drive you to/from station .

    If you are a handy-/woman/man (carpentry and painting), but also can do cleaning, moving things and enjoy peace and quiet in great nature but also like to socialize with other workawayers and do cultural exchange, this is the place for you. It is also nice if you join the cooking activities, but not a must.

    We like to have a structured day like starting work at 7 in the morning and have a long good coffee break around 10, work a bit more and later split for lunch and have free afternoons so we work together and have fun together as a team. It is also possible to work longer days in the week and have oval weekends as agreed together so that you can travel a bit. We need flexibility though as much is dependent on the weather. If there are outside works and and the weather is better in the weekend than weekdays it is good to reschedule the "weekend". It is of utmost importance that we talk together, plan together so it is a win-win.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers can benefit from learning some norwegian and norwegian culture. They can get help to seek permanent jobs in Oslo, consider this as a way of starting a new life in Norway.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with
    repair a leaky roof
    painting buildings outside and inside
    some repairs/carpentry
    cleaning
    decluttering and moving furniture and boxes
    decorating
    taking down trees, clearing wild grown vegetation
    cooking

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We can teach you Norwegian and/or improve your English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private apartment, with sleeping room, hall, living room, bathroom with WC, kitchen

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Hadeland is considered Toscana of the North with beautiful nature, small lakes, art museums. Being close to Oslo, it gives ample opportunity to visit Oslo by train or car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    No problem parking on the property and using shower/WC in the main house.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have an in-house cat and it is not used to other pets, but, you will have a seperate apt. As long as your pet is not in a habit of scratching furniture and walls, it is OK.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 233485478142

Feedback (4)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Help us with some small projects around the house in Stokmarknes, Norway
Join our family and help with DIY in wild and beautiful nature in Lofoten, Norway