Welcome at our permaculture garden & foodforest in the beautiful Belgian Ardennes

  • Favourited 298 times
  • Last activity: 22 Feb 2024



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    NOTICE: we are only receiving volunteers from 15 July 2023 to 23 July 2023 at the moment !


    I am Véronique and together with my son Matthias we welcome you in a beautiful natural setting,

    We live in a rather small village in the Belgian Ardennes in the countryside. The house is a passive low-energy house which does not need much heating in winter because it is so well insulated.

    The land was a pasture when me and my husband first bought it. Through the years it transformed into a natural abundance. Firstly the permaculture garden was created and soon after a natural swimming pond, greenhouses and a developing food forest followed. A few years ago we gained land across the street and turned it into an orchard.
    Now the land brings us more food and houses much more life.

    I was a biology teacher and business owner together with my husband. We moved here after selling our business to have a more tranquil life. Sadly enough my husband passed away in 2021. But his presence still remains here and is in all that he helped create. I love to work with plants and spend most of my days outside and in the garden. I also preserve food and make my own soap and herbs. A few times a week I go out and enjoy Yoga, Pilates and/or Nordic walking.

    Matthias contributes to the place with his handiness. He loves being and working in the food-forest, eats wild edibles on the go, uses low tech tools like the scythe to cut the grass, likes woodworking and building things, etc... His main job is related to the web, design and programming.

    Saar lives here too, a black Labrador(ish) dogs. Apart from her, there are chickens that roam the food forest and fish that could tickle your toes when swimming in the natural pond. Oh and I almost forgot Sunny the cat.

    We aim to live a healthy life, we do not drink (coffee, alcohol), do not smoke, or take drugs and try to avoid sugar (hard one sometimes!). We eat mainly vegetarian but occasionally meat or fish is consumed. We go to bed rather early and get up early, especially when the days are hot.

    As goes for the surrounding; The Ourthe, a well known river in the Ardennes, is just a small walk away. Plenty of forest is nearby which make for wonderful hike opportunities. Saar will love to tag along. 🐾

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Véronique: I have gardened practically all my life and can share lots about it; ecological gardening principles, seeding, planting, processing the harvest, pruning. Also preserving such as drying herbs, making fruit leathers, canning sauces, ... Making soap, flue tinctures, juice from our grapes, etc. All this depends very much on the season though. I sew and repair clothes or make my own pillow sheets etc.

    Matthias: I can share and have experience with community living, creative coding for the web, scything, permaculture, food-forests, general handiness, woodworking, travelling alternatively, van living, yurt living, bike travel, general handiness, bush-crafting, foraging and basic wild edible knowledge, self explored piano, banjo, ukulele, basic sewing (repairing and making my own needs) ...

  • Help


    🌱 Mainly the garden needs help, such as weeding, planting, mulching, tiding up the paths and borders, harvesting vegetables and fruits.

    🌳 Also the food-forest can use help, with tending to the trees, preparing planting regions for next season etc...
    Bear in mind that the kind of outside chores depend a lot on the weather and also on the season.

    🧹 Once in a while we also tidy up the place, like organising stuff and building materials in a better fashion.

    🧰 Tending to that which needs help; like fixing fences, repair a shovel handle, etc..

    🐔 Tending to the chickens, collect the eggs, giving food in the morning, clean up, opening the hatch towards the food forest etc...

    🪓 There are plenty of outside chores that can involve physical work. Like pushing wheelbarrow, digging, etc...

    🐶 🐟 The dog, and the fish need food on a regular basis, so also this you could do.

    🥕 Cooking meals, setting the table, doing the dishes

    🧹 Cleaning the house, or more so keeping it clean!

    🌺 Maybe you like to tidy up our fireplace, make it more cosy, or see other ways to make the place more beautiful.

    ✨ Maybe there are things calling to you. By which you can contribute with your own specific skill set. Like cooking a really nice meal, or repairing, cosy-fying, teaching, ...

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    There is a small attic above our garage, a room with bunk beds and a guest room. Depending on the situation you will find yourself sleeping in one of these. It is possible you have to share that space with others. We will make sure you have a mattresses and a pillow, but it would be very helpful if you can bring your own sleeping bag and liner.
    It is also possible to tent out in the food-forest, a rather nice place to be.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    - The nearest train station is approx 30minutes by car (Marloie). Pickup from and to the station can be arranged.
    - There is a bus stop in front of the house, so you could visit the city Bastogne on your free time if you like.

    - At home you'll find there is a piano, banjo, cajon, guitar 🎵
    - The nature surrounds us, so if you like walks or trail runs, you can do so. 🌲🥾 Also the dogs would love to join you. 🐶
    - Visit beautiful La Roche, Marche-en-Famenne or Bastogne, 3 closest cities . 🏙
    - Have a swim in our natural pond. 💧
    - There are plenty of books to read at our library 📚
    - have a snooze in a hammock at the food forest 💤 🌳
    - have a day hike around Lake Nisramont
    - there is a special energetic place a small walk away called the "Big White Stones" which is connected to a legend.

    It is helpful if you could take your own sleeping bag or liner with you.

    We mainly have a vegetarian diet and occasionally we eat a bit of meat/fish. Vegans are welcome but we are not vegan.
    So it would be nice If you can enrich us with your way of cooking.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Pets are welcome if they are known to be calm and relaxed around other animals. Such as our free running chickens, dogs and cats.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Around 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 233378611761

Feedback (6)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Join us and experience living in nature and help us renovate our watermill in Gros-Fays, Belgium
Come and help me to improve my home in Ostend, Belgium