Help around my home and understand the Mexican way of living South of Mexico City

Country

Mexico

Favourited 30 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/04/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Help needed in Xochimilco @ South of Mexico City
    Hello everybody! I am a Mexican professional living in Xochimilco neighborhood. I own a big house that requires general maintenance.
    Spending time in Xochimilco is great experience, and one of the most important tourist destinations in Mexico city. It’s almost obligatory to take a trajinera ride and enjoy the region’s typical cuisine and snacks and of course listening to mexican music performed by mariachis, trios of ranchero music or marimba players.

    Xochimilco has four sites dedicated to the safekeeping and protection of its environment, the Centro Acuexcomatl – where they offer classes on environmental education -, the Bosques de San Luis Tlaxialtemalco and of Nativitas, and the Parque Ecoturístico Chinampero Michmani, that houses open-air zones that offers camping and diverse activities, like canoeing or kayaking, visiting a temascal or fishing in the canals.
    Another obligatory visit is the Museo Dolores Olmedo Patiño, a typical mexican building surrounded by wonderful gardens. Its collection consists of paintings of Diego Rivera and Frida Kalho.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    While staying in my house the Workawayer will live and understand the Mexican way of living, will try Mexican food and enjoy the touristic places and activities in the neighborhood and in Mexico City in general. Depending of the time of the year will have the opportunity to see the local festivals and parties.
    The Workawayer will also have the opportunity to learn or improve its Spanish Lenguage and will feel comfortable as I am able to speak fluently other languages like English, Russian, and Portuguese.
    I will be able to learn from other cultures or ways of living and practice languages. I am also open to learn skills to maintain the house from visitors.

  • Help

    Help

    Depending of the skills of visitor I will need help sanding, repairing or painting some walls, metal doors pots etc. in the house. Sanding, repairing and painting wood furniture (doors, closets, etc.), doing some general maintenance tasks in the house.
    I am also interested in creating and urban garden in the house for this reason gardening skills will be appreciated.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Russian, Portuges

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room with a private bathroom.
    Use of kitchen and other common areas.

    I will share my food with the workawayer (breakfast, lunch and dinner). This is another way of intercultural exchange. If the visitor has any special food requirements it is necessary to know in advance in order to agree and buy in advance the food. The kitchen will be always available to the workawayer for cooking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is located 25 Km far away from airport and 20 km from Zocalo (downtown). The house is close to the touristic decks and boats (embracaderos and trajineras) and Museum Dolores Olmedo (Diego Rivera´s and Frida Kahlo paintings).
    There is public transport by bus from Metro Pino Suarez (downtown) or Metro Taxqueña.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 232963698761