Looking for animal lovers for our farm in British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/08/2020

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a small ranch of 162 acres in the cariboo area of BC. We have 4 cows due to calf in April. We've bred and raised our 8 horses. Our two cats and our two dogs are all outside critters. We do some traveling and that is when we need the extra help. We need people that can work independently. For shorter trips you are welcome to join in.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can offer the experience of life in rural BC which for us includes care and welfare of our horses, cows, cats and dogs. In winter this involves feeding as well as general health care of horses and cows. In spring/summer there is calving (usually April) hay cropping usually late june through July, and horse training from early spring to late fall.

  • Help

    Help

    Caring for/feeding the animals will be the main requirement. In the winter cow/horse feeding is done with the tractor. You will be putting out round bales about once a week. The cats and dogs need to be fed twice a day. Helping in the garden, either indoor or outdoor can take as much as 2 to 3 hours every couple of days.
    If we are away you will be looking after your own cooking and cleaning. In winter we use a wood burning air tight stove to help heat the house which would be an added chore if we are away. The main heat is provided by a natural gas furnace.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a 1800 square foot home, You will have a private bedroom with a king size bed. The bathroom is shared. If we are away you will be responsible for your own cooking and cleaning, groceries provided of course. We enjoy an occasional alcoholic beverage, smoking is accepted but outside only. If we are home we share in cooking/cleaning. Neighbours often drop just make sure things are good. We may be helping the neighbours with something they need or enjoying a bit of social time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We will provide a vehicle so a valid driving licence is a must. Town is about 15 min. away, for a larger city you will be traveling a couple of hours. We are too far in the country to have bus service. In winter we have great cross country skiing, skating indoor and out, as well as ice fishing if thats for you. If you'd rather be outside we do lots of walking depending on how deep the snow is. In the summer we offer lots of lakes for swimming/fishing, if we are home we take our boat out .We have a great hiking group that would be happy to show you the trails. in the summer we do more with the horses as well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 232796669726