Help in a loving family with many rescued animals in a soon to be self-sufficient farm near Nice, France

Country

France

Favourited 144 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a loving family of 3, with many rescued animals in a soon to be self sufficient farm just above Nice, south of France (Colomars). Being the 6 th generation in the same home, we wanted to give a new turn to this 2 hectares property with permaculture design. We are just minutes away from the sea side in a beautifull spot on top of a protected natural site with extraordinary biodiversity. (Vallons obscurs de Nice)
    Our surroundings are being loaded by concrete, the challenge is to show that nature can be very generous in many ways and that we need to protect it. By creating this sustainable economic model, we hope to give a sense of feasibility for everyone in the world.
    Our job is to grow and harvest medecinal plants for infusion, herbal or flowery waters and essential oils. There is as well David, growing and selling vegs.

    In 2020, we acquired a 25 hectares property, with a huge farmhouse to rebuild, in a breathtaking spot, North of Nice (90km) where we will be picking and growing medicinal plants and herbs as well, but mountain varieties.
    There are 2 rivers, and the farmhouse is in the middle of the mountain with the absolute silence, but nature noise. Heaven.
    We will be in between two places until the mountain farm is ready to welcome us all year round.
    For now, as the bridge has been taken away, threre is a 25 minutes walk from the road (1.3km) to get to the house, in the future, we will manage to finish the trail.
    We need help on both properties, to plant, seed, harvest, cut, mix, saw, .... take care of the animals and our daughter.

    Take care all.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Laetitia is a head chef specialist of Niçois cuisine as well a vegetarian/vegan/world food. Kevin is an herbalist growing and harvesting medecinal plants.
    We are always eager to help in many ways: teaching french, showing the real "Niçois way of life", sharing our knowledge of permaculture and ecoconstruction. We are showing the best spots of the french riviera to our guests and friends.

  • Help

    Help

    Laetitia being weak from childbirth, and Kevin taking care of the whole farm, we need help to built tree house, finishing dry toilets and solar shower in the garden, building landart structures in the garden to grow climbing vegetables, taking care of the usual maintenance, helping in gardening when needed. The workhorse need training as we would like to save more of them from the butcher, as well as the poney.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A little trailer for 2 in the garden,close access to the shower kitchen and toilet in the farm, and during summer time, a nice camping spot in the garden with a spring water basin, a little hut with electric and fridge, freezer, cooking area, with couches and a dining area.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    in the middle of a protected site nammed "vallon obscur", we are just minutes away from Nice sea side. the bus stop is 8 minutes by foot.
    We would really like to welcome experienced volunteers so Kevin could focus on his numerous daily tasks.
    We like our privacy because we are always welcoming people and need time to relax and from now and then, sharing meals when possible with our guests. We provide organic food already cooked or to cook.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.


Host ref number: 231962553748