Help on our small family farm in Urubamba, Peru

Country

Peru

Favourited 382 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2020

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family living in Urubamba, in the Beautiful Sacred Valley. My family has lived here for multiple generations and we are now hoping to transform the land to use it for the production of vegetables and herbs. Right now it is just my mother and I living on the land, and we would love to have help with the work thats required to get this started. There are also other projects, such as building a fence and various construction jobs. Recently, we've started using our farm house as a paying guest let, so other travelers are around as well. We enjoy meeting people from around the world and sharing the peruvian culture. I am fluent in both english, spanish and the native language Quechua, and can help with language practice. Urubamba is a small town that hasn't yet been discovered on the tourist path. It is close to the train to macchu picchu, and only an hour from cusco.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers can practice spanish with me, learn about peruvian cooking and culture, as well as the history of the wonderful sacred valley.

  • Help

    Help

    We have gardens already in production that we could use help maintaining, as well as starting a medicinal herb garden and vegerable garden. People with experience in gardening would be very appreciated as precious knowledge would be an asset. Also a few little construction tasks around the farm, such as building a fence, painting, building some pews.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Quechua: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There's lots of space around the property to set up a tent, if you don't have a tent it's ok we can accomodate you in a room. As you wish! There are bathrooms and showers available for use as well. Food is included, it's local food using fruits and vegetables from the area. Also quinoa! Vegetarians are welcome but we somtimes eat meat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    5 hours a 5 days a week, but the times are flexible. Close to lots of hiking and inca ruins to visit!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 229226811641