Help us renovate our 1920s railway cottage in the peaceful village of Ohaupo, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Brad and Bethany Rolston, a couple - both 24 - living in Ohaupo, in the Waikato region of New Zealand.

    We are in the throws of renovating our first home - a three-bedroom 1920 Railway cottage.

    We would love to host you in exchange for help with our house.

    Our house is almost 100 years old and built with beautiful timber that is native to New Zealand.

    Ohaupo is a small peaceful village with a bakery, cafe, fish 'n' chip shop and a couple of vintage stores.

    A larger town, Te Awamutu, is 10 minutes' drive away and has everything you need - supermarkets, shops, a library, a museum, a cinema etc.

    We're also 40 minutes to Raglan, a gorgeous wee beach town, and 40 minutes to Matamata, (Hobbiton film set). Auckland (our largest city) is two hours' drive away.

    There are many bush walks, mountains, lakes and all sorts of fun adventures to be had close by.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Waikato region is full of rich history and culture. Learn about local Māori Land Wars from the 1800s, take walks around beautiful and rare peat lakes or check-out our local library and museum.

    We also know plenty of cattle and sheep farmers if you are keen to have a farm experience.

  • Help

    Help

    We are keen to hear from builders, painters, labourers, gardeners, cleaners or anyone happy to help out around the property or with renovations.

    We have a workshop/garage with many tools.

    There are jobs both easy and more challenging, depending on your skills.

    We both work full time so would be happy to set you up with a list for the day, if you are happy taking your own initiative. Or else we are usually at home doing renovations on the weekend.

    Do note, we are about half way through renovations so you'll have to be happy living in a place that can get noisy and dusty. (We do clean up well after working, though!)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our house has three bedrooms, one bathroom, one kitchen, wifi and washing facilities.

    We have one bedroom available for travellers and can make up a double bed or king single bed. Our space would be best-suited to a single person, couple, or two friends.

    We will provide sheets, bedding, pillows etc. We also have a coffee machine that makes an excellent flat white.

    We can arrange the food situation by negotiation. Either we will cook for you, or you are welcome to use the kitchen, or cooking dinner could be one of your jobs.

    We live in a railway house, right beside a railway line, so there are about seven trains that pass the house throughout the day/night!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It would be best if you brought your own vehicle as there will not be a car available for your use.

    However, you can catch a bus from the village to nearby towns Te Awamutu or Hamilton.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 227324482388