Join our Organic farm close to Quito, Ecuador

Country

Ecuador

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Andres and Aurora. We have our organic farm in Tabacundo. We grow vegetables, grains and soon fruits, respecting the land. And we have animals (chickens, pigs, goats, guinea pigs, horses) that help us with their compost, their eggs, their milk and their meat, and we give them a lot of love ;). Our goal is to be self-sufficient as much as possible, that is in our food, that of our animals and in our way of farming.

    Somos Andres y Aurora. Tenemos nuestra finca orgánica en Tabacundo. Cultivamos verduras, granos y pronto frutas, respetando a la tierra. Y tenemos animales (gallinas, puercos, cabras, cuyes, caballos) que nos ayudan con su abono, sus huevos, su leche y su carne, y les damos mucho amor ;) . Nuestro objetivo es de ser auto suficientes lo mas posible, que sea en nuestra comida, la de nuestros animales y en nuestra manera de cultivar.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You are going to learn about organic agriculture, most of all land-friendly agriculture; to manage a farm; to exchange with locals (2 Ecuadorians but also 1 French).

    Vas a aprender sobre la agricultura orgánica, mas que todo la agricultura respetuosa de la tierra ; a manejar una finca ; a intercambiar con locales (2 ecuatorianos pero también 1 francesa).

  • Help

    Help

    We work in the garden (planting, weeding, covering, harvesting), with the animals (feeding, cleaning the corals), in the large fields (planting, weeding, lifting soil), in various projects (plant trees, fixing animal corals, making a dehydrator of food, train horses to work the land, harvest rainwater, recycle water with purifying plants, among others).
    We make baskets (on Monday), home deliveries (on Tuesday) and the rest of the week we work in the field.

    Trabajamos en la huerta (siembra, deshierba, cobertura, cosecha), con los animales (dar de comer, limpiar los corales), en los campos grandes (siembra, deshierba, alzar tierra), en proyectos diversos (siembra arboles, arreglar corales de animales, hacer un deshidratador de alimentos, entrenar a caballos para trabajar la tierra, cosecha de agua de lluvia, reciclare de agua con plantas depurativas, entre otros).
    Hacemos canastas (el lunes), entregas a domicilio (el martes) y lo resto de la semana los labores en el campo.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You have a house with a bedroom (double bed or two single beds), a bathroom, a kitchen. Also we shared with you our house during the day.
    We eat the vegetables and grains from the garden. In the morning, oatmeal, cookies from our corn, fruits, milk (of our goat) kefir and herbal tea from the garden. For lunch, rice with vegetables and grains from the garden, avocado. And sometimes we eat eggs and meat from our chickens or pigs. Each week, we made french bread with our flavour and almost each day, cheese of our goat.

    Tienes una casa con habitación (doble cama o dos camas individuales), baño y cocina. También compartimos contigo nuestra cosa durante el día.
    Nosotros comemos las verduras y granos de la huerta. En la mañana, avena, galletas de nuestro maíz, frutas, kefir de leche de nuestras chivas y te de hierbas de la huerta. Al almuerzo, arroz con las verduras y granos de la huerta , aguacate. Y aveces comemos huevos y carne de nuestras gallinas o puercos. Cada semana hacemos pan de masa madre con nuestra harina y casi todos los días queso de nuestras cabras.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your days off (2 on weekend), you can go to visit nice places around:
    - Mojanda lagoons (45 minutes away)
    - Fuya Fuya and Cayembe mountains (45 minutes away)
    - Cochasqui pyramids (45 minutes away)
    - Jerusalem forest (45 minutes)
    - Otavalo city with its artisan market (one hour away)
    - Quito city (one hour)

    En tus días libres (2 el fin de semana), puedes ir a visitar lindos sitios alrededor :
    - lagunas de Mojanda (a 45 minutos)
    - montañas Fuya Fuya y Cayembe (a 45 minutos)
    - piramides de Cochasqui (a 45 minutos)
    - bosque de Jerusalem (a 45 minutos)
    - cuidad de Otavalo con su mercado artesanal (a una hora)
    - cuidad de Quito (a una hora)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a good internet conection if you have a work distance. Tenemos una buena coneción de internet si necesitas trabajar a distancia.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 982223184577