Homestead, garden, and forest work in beautiful rural Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 49 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!

    We are Janita, Josh, Ursula, and Ida a growing family in beautiful rural Ontario. We live in a small village on a residential property that is adjacent to Janita's parents farm. We have many projects going on this spring and summer as we slowly build up our little homestead.

    The People:

    We are open minded and curious people with many interests. We are always striving to live more in harmony with natural ecological processes, though we recognize that this is difficult in our present capitalist economic and social situation. We are always thinking about how to build community and to live as much as possible in harmony with the land. While we believe it is important to be open-hearted, it is also important to be critical - we are living in dangerous times and there is a lot of work to do.

    Josh is a doctoral student at nearby Queen's University in the field of Cultural Studies. His research interests include the philosophy of ecology, and Mahayana Buddhism. He has worked in many different jobs, including running a tree-service, and working as a gold-prospector in the Yukon Territory.

    Janita is a printmaker, studio manager, and artist who works with other printmakers in the area. She is also a singer, and she is involved in the local community group SONG, a choir and charity that helps low-income children get involved with music.

    Ursula is a very active and energetic 4 year old. Right now she is curious about letters and numbers, the days of the week, how stars form, where food comes from, what dying means, how to be kind to our animal-brothers and sisters, gymnastics, and many other things. She loves making up pretend games and roleplaying, and she really loves playing outside.

    Ida is 9 months old. She is a very smiley and happy baby. Her work mostly consists of trying to stand and putting things in her mouth.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are very interested to learn from you about your home culture (even if you are from Canada - every region is different, even if only subtlely). This includes language. We speak a little bit of French and a little bit more Spanish. It would be amazing to be able to practice Spanish in exchange for a little bit of tutoring in English as well. Certainly other languages are also of interest to us, we are curious about them all! We are also interested to learn about the different ways people experience the world.

    Things you might learn about staying with us: gardening, animal care, horticulture, basic maintenance of tools, fences, basic carpentry skills, tree work skills , chainsawing etc., cooking, child rearing.

    There is also the exposure to the kind of alternative homesteading life that we are striving to lead, influenced and shaped by broader North American culture but certainly trying to shift away from consumerism and wastefulness that characterizes so much of it. We will be consuming very little digital media while you are here, focusing on working with the plants, animals, and the land, and each other.

  • Help

    Help

    We will have a flexible schedule, 5 hours of help a day for 5 days, with 2 free days a week.

    We have a large vegetable garden, and we are transitioning to no-till horticulture methods. We will need to do a lot of work to prep the garden with mulch and ground cover, as well as amending the soil, weeding, edging, and planting.

    Sometimes we go into a nearby hardwood forest to harvest trees to prepare for the next years' heating needs. We heat our home with a wood stove, and we have plenty of work to do with cutting, splitting, stacking, and moving firewood. This is always fun, hard work, but we can definitely use some help this year. Right now we need a lot of help splitting and stacking the firewood that we cut from the forest last year. We will use axes and woodsplitter.

    We have 60+ chickens at the moment, new layers we got last year and meat birds. At the end of July we will slaughter the meat birds, and there will be work cleaning out the chicken coop and turning the manure to make compost.

    Although our property is less than 1 acre, we are actively working to reintroduce native tree species around the property and on the neighbouring farmland. Two years ago we planted 75 maple, birch, and pine trees. They will need some care and protection from rabbits, and we want to continue to plant many more trees as well.

    We also want to create new ornamental gardens in the front of the house that follow naturalistic ecological principles.

    There are a few building projects ongoing, including putting trim on the dormers of our house. Carpentry skills are not necessary but could be very useful.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the home:

    We have a beautiful second floor guest bedroom suite including a bathroom that our workawayers (up to 2) can stay in. There is a double bed and a single bed. The three of us sleep downstairs. There is a lot of space to hang out upstairs after work, but you will also be welcome to mingle with us in the rest of the house and also hang out outside.

    Depending on your cooking skills and interests it may be that there is some kitchen work. Mainly we want to work together to keep a very clean and tidy space that everyone can enjoy. There will be 3 meals a day. Dinner will be collective, as will lunch, more than likely, but breakfast will be a fend-for yourself affair. There will be lots of cereal, fruit, yogourt, eggs, bread etc.

    We are not vegetarian but we can accommodate vegetarian diets here. Vegans are welcome but they will have a harder time as we can't cater to their needs. We enjoy our fresh eggs from our hens, and we try to source our meat locally and ethically.

    Our two little kids are extremely vivacious and energetic, and they will probably take a great interest in you and want to play. If you are good with children and enjoy spending time with them that is a big bonus, but you will not be expected to be a babysitter. That said, it will be much better if you enjoy little kids and are comfortable engaging with them.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transit:

    If you come from abroad you will likely be coming into Toronto Pearson Airport. Depending on your arrival time we can pick you up there. If you are already in the city, you can take the GO Train to Oshawa and we can get you from there. There are also buses that go to Peterborough. We can discuss your particular transit needs.

    The Area:

    Our neighbour to the East is the 100 acre Fifth Wind Farm, which is the home of Janita's parents Henry and Joanna. Joanna and Henry run a very large organic vegetable garden, and Joanna is an energy psychotherapist who also has a natural skin-care products business. Henry is a carpenter and home-builder by trade who now works developing experimental natural building materials and techniques. Two of his model homes have been built on the farm and one of them is currently under construction. There are always 3-8 workawayers or other volunteers living at the farm, and this is a great opportunity for socializing after work and on weekends. There are often campfires and music late into the night on weekends. Also, there may be a few days when we don't have a lot of work to do here, and we might ask you to join the bigger crew working on projects up at Fifth Wind.

    We are situated in the rolling hills of Northumberland County. Our village is 10 minutes north of the nearest town, Cobourg, which has all the amenities for shopping and restaurants, as well as a famous sandy beach on Lake Ontario. The town of Port Hope, 10 minutes away, is one of Ontario's most historically preserved towns, and is filled with great restaurants and antique shops. Just 5 minutes drive north of us is Rice Lake, which is a popular fishing spot. We are about 1.5 hours east of Toronto, and it is definitely possible to catch a bus or a train into the city without too much trouble. Also, 45 minutes to the north of us is Peterborough, a lively university town with interesting shops and music events etc.

    If you are interested in hiking and natural scenery there is the Northumberland Forest and the Ganaraska Forest a few minutes drive away, and there are many opportunities to walk through the country roads or bike around. (we MAY have bikes fixed up by May).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 224298669642