Come to our family and enjoy this wonderful city, New York, United States

Country

United States

Favourited 77 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Will add further details regarding other possible projects shortly*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    Essentially you would be spending time with us practicing a language (not English) and helping on small projects. We are currently trying to get our home together and minimizing. Mum needs to Mari Kondo our home. We also enjoy exploring our city so there will be times when we go to the zoo, parks, and other fun activities. Ideally we are looking for someone who is fluent (written/verbal) in Spanish (we speak Spanish in the home), French, German, Arabic or Russian. Other languages are welcome and definitely considered. :)

    If you do not enjoy the joys of children, and their quirky ways then we may not be the ideal place. Sleeping in is not common as she has a subconscious alarm that notifies her when the sun is somewhere near the horizon.

    Small families, homeschoolers, unschoolers & worldschoolers are welcome, accommodations will be cozy. Ideally looking for a 3 week minimum commitment. We want our guests (workers) to feel like they are a part of our family and daily lives, not just like they are here to work, work work. We also don't want to feel like we are simply being a hostel or a place to stay while you find a place in the city and want to learn as much from you as you can learn much from us.

    As we receive quite a few messages, please send a thoughtful message that helps us get to know you a bit better. Mum enjoys running, learning new languages and thrift shopping. The wee one enjoys puppies, more puppies, running, chasing squirrels and time at the park. We'd like to know that you've at least glanced at our profile.

    Usually we cook simple meals as the wee one is a picky eater, but if you enjoy cooking, we'd love to learn a new recipe...or 10.

    Please note we would like to schedule at least one video chat to get acquainted with each other and discuss plans. Feel free to share any ideas you have or activities that you can share.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Cultural exchange, room & board are the form of payment offered*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There are many unique and cultural activities in NYC. We primarily speak English and Spanish in the home. We are always looking for unique and fun things to do. We like to visit museums, libraries, art shows, festivals and other events in the city.

    Mum loves frugal finds and we would love to share some less touristic and typical aspects of NYC.

  • Help

    Help

    The goal is to better our language skills. You don't need a set language curriculum, just fluency in the language and the ability to help us learn. We live in NYC so there is no real gardening or yard tasks to be done. There are painting project (interior walls) and such that have been put off for for too long. This would include moving some furniture, which I can help with.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Shared room. You will have a large, king size bed. Can easily fit 2 adults and a child (co-sleeping). We currently have an extra bassinet, but it may be donated soon. We have 3 strollers and a few baby carriers if you have an infant or toddler. This is likely just additional information because Workaway requires private accommodations so we would only be able to accept one person.

    We can offer clothing (within reason) to use for paint projects so you wouldn't need to stain your clothing. We may not have a pair of XXXL shorts or XXS top, but can find something.

    Breakfast and lunch are included on working days. Think, cereal, oats, fruit/veggies, milk, yogurt, pastas, legumes, etc. We do not consume pork or shellfish (any fish) in the home. As we are a small family we can only provide meals for the workawayer (if we can find work for two then we can adjust accordingly). *️️️️Only one guest is allowed per Workaway*️️️️ Guests are welcome to use kitchen. Please be considerate and have the ability to tidy up, we have soap, sponges and a drying rack so you are able to wash dishes you use.

    There are laundry facilities, we do not pay for laundry service.

    Please note that our building and our home is not wheelchair accessible. If you are unable to lift object, climb a set of stains or step into a bath tub, then we would not be able to host.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is an endless number of things to do in NYC. We are close to the subway, shopping/markets. Whether you are looking to check out graffiti, eat a plethora of food from around the world or wander the museums; you will find something to enjoy.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25hrs per week


Host ref number: 222489152892