Help a couple of artists rehabilitate an 18th Century ex-monastery in Burgundy, France

Country

France

Favourited 189 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/05/2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Help needed with simple physical building work, landscaping, removing old plaster from walls, painting, wall papering...
    An old Franciscan monastery from around 1700 AC.
    A couple of young (70/77) artists - sculpture, ceramics, mosaics, photo...
    Discover Southern Burgundy in a region known for its unique Romanesque architecture (Cluny, Paray-le-Monial and many more) and off course its famous Charolais Beef !

    Less than two hours from Lyon, Paris (TGV), Geneva (car).
    We have our studios and normally in summer (July/August) we organizse different art events. Not this year because of the move and the building project.
    We hope to reopen in 2020 especially as it is the tenth anniversary of the Biennale d’Art Contemporain de Marcigny (71)

    We have one cat.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have to renovate the oldest part of the buildings to create a new habitat and artists studios.
    We plan to do this in an sustainable manner. There will be a variety of work, carpentry, electricity, plumbing...

    Work in the mornings and in the afternoon we can take you around the sights, eventually to concerts, showings...

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a comfortable campingcar which could accommodate 2/3 (couples welcomed).
    There is accommodation for two singles or two couples in the house.
    We propose to share household duties including cooking...
    Looking after 'guest' the way we see it being quite demanding, we cannot envisage long term stay, one week is the ideal but we remain "open"...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please tell us what are your interest and we will tell you if you will be able to fill your free time...
    We like traveling so will gladly show you around the region and could even plan trips further away.
    We can easily fetch you from Lyon's St. Exupery airport or at the closest train stations (we can help you plan this).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 to be discussed :)



Host ref number: 219684768781