Help us with our family holiday home and explore nature and culture in the Ardèche, South of France

  • Favourited 22 times
  • Last activity: 15 May 2023

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    ** PERIOD: the month april 2023**
    => Half holiday, half work
    => Work to discuss (i.e. gardening, cooking, painting, some woodwork, bricklaying)
    => Lift by car possible from the Netherlands to France and vice versa.


    My family ownes a holiday home in the Ardèche, in the south of France. We are Dutch, and non native french speakers! After the retirement of my father and mother, they lived there each year from spring to fall. Now my mother is older, we use it as a family holiday house. Each family member uses the house for summerholiday for some weeks with his/ her family.

    As the eldest son I am 'responsible' to prepare the house each year for summer and close it for winter.... It's some work! Help is very welcome!

    We really love this calm and serene spot in nature. It gives us a smile on the face each time we arrive at it. We like to give you the opportunity to experience the same!

    The area has beautiful sceneries and is lovely for outdoor live, hiking, biking, visiting pittoresque villages and culinary discoveries.

    The house has good wifi, so if you want you can combine your stay with your online business or with working from 'home'.

    If you are interested to give some help, please contact me. Then I can tell you more about our nice house and the beautiful area. And we can decide if we have a 'click' together. I am open minded and like to meet new people. I will give you a warm welcome and treat you like a family member. I like nature, personal development, sports, hiking, yoga, meditation and good (vegetarian) food. Love to share this together.

    Nice to meet you, recieve your smile and connect.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    To experience all the benefits of the countryside of the south of France at a nice and quiet spot. Great to slow down and come to yourself and meet new people. As a host I treat a workawayer as a family member and like to have a good time together en show you around in the Ardèche. Next to that I am interested in personal development. Nice to have good conversations about this theme and learn from eachother. Especially on a nice, calm evening outside on the terrace with a small campfire. I practice yoga and meditate. Always nice to practice together. I will look forward to meet you.

  • Help

    Help

    Help: it's an old house with much surroundings, so always some work to do :). Preparing our family holiday home for the summer time (in spring) and closing it for the winter (in autumn). Next to this, there is always some maintenance work to be done at the house.

    I like to keep the work relaxt ;) and meet new people. Help is welcome. I am looking for one to three persons. The more hands, the easier and nicer the work.

    Outside: Garden work (mowing, remove weeds etc.), preparing the mini vegetable garden, painting, build up (spring) or clean outside furniture and store inside (autumn), preparing (spring) and cleaning the swimming pool, renovate outside wooden stairs (woodwork / construction). Renovate stone terrace, Outdoor painting (shutters, window frames). Co-tiddying the terrace.
    Inside: window frames, painting window frames, walls, wooden ceiling. Renovate / plaster walls. Co-tiddying the house. Cooking (if we are with a a few people).
    We have some electric challenges. If you are an electrician (or have lots of knowledge about it) you are very welcome ;)

    Exact help to be discussed together (depends on your interests and skills).

    Do you want to have a break? Ar you a bit handy (DIY) or do you have green fingers? I like to come in contact with you!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Old house with all facilities on a terrain in nature. A small village close by with all services.

    You will have a sleeping room en suite for your self with lots of privacy. If more people join, maybe not everyone has it's own sleeping room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Work and time to be discussed. I think of:
    - half day work, half day free time
    - place to sleep, food and drinks on my expenses. Fresh croissants in the morning and good wine at it's time.
    - opportunity to travel with me for free in the car from the Netherlands
    - period: to be discussed.

    Feel welcome!

    The village can be reached by bus, a train station at 25 km. TGV trainstation at 70 km. No problem to pick you up from the station. I can you give a lift from the Netherlands as well (both directions).

    Free time: as mentioned the region (south) Ardèche is beautiful and great to explore. Hiking, biking etc. The house and it terrain is great to slow down an come to rest; read a book, swim or do your yoga practice.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a decent wifi connection and enough places in- and outside the house where you can work on a quit spot.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    To be discussed

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 219418347495

Feedback (3)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)