Come and help me with my daughter in Berlin, Germany

Country

Germany

updated   Last minute

Favourited 481 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    From the beginning of October 2021 to mid-January 2022 we are looking for motivated volunteers for a cultural circenic event in southern Germany. German language skills are a prerequisite. The work includes many simple help activities such as help with advertising, admission and restoration. Reliability and a sense of responsibility are important. <<<<<<<

    Dear Workawayer,

    I am a single Mom living in central Berlin. I have a lovely 3-year-old daughter who literally delights everyone. I am looking for someone who is warm hearted, very responsible and reliable.

    >>>>> I have made plans for most of the year but might have some short time slots.



    I am an acrobat and magician which I take very seriously. This has been my only income for the last 10 years.

    I am looking forward to welcoming you into my home. <3


    ---
    Von Ende Oktober 2021 bis Mitte Januar 2022 sind wir auf der Suche nach motivierten Volunteers für ein kulturell circenisches Event im Süden Deutschlands. Deutsche Sprachkenntnisse sind Vorraussetzung. Die Arbeit beinhaltet viele einfache Helfertätigkeiten wie Hilfe bei der Reklame, Einlass und Restauration. Wichtig sind Zuverlässigkeit und Verantwortungsbewusstsein. <<

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You might be expected to come with me while babysitting. This also gives you the importunity to see some cool places - others than you might expect, but a deep insight into German culture and life. I am an artist, so you might also see me training, dancing or performing. It will be exhausting (at least for me) but also loads of fun. :-D

    During the week most of the work I do is planning, organizing and everything else that needs to be done. Even though I am a circus artist, I am down to earth. I try to live a responsible and caring life but I don't do extreme veganism, minimalism, no-waste, etc.
    And my balcony is not an urban farm. It is just a balcony with the occasional flower and maybe some laundry.

    I am a multiskilled person. Ask me if you want to learn something specific. If I cannot teach it, I usually know where you can learn.

    >>>>> BERLIN lots of stuff to do!

    If you have netflix and like to improve your German skills, I enjoy watching series in the evening together. ;-)

  • Help

    Help

    You are expected to do cleaning & housework, babysit my daughter while I perform and help with other projects around the apartment 20-25h a week for free accommodation and food. Cleaning is essential !!

    You will take care of my daughter while I work. You will have a good experience if you genuinely love spending time with kids and if babysitting is an easy task for you. I will set up a schedule together with you before you come to our home. Be sure when you come you agree to the schedule and stick to it. At the moment it will be mostly on the weekends, mostly Saturdays and sometimes picking my daughter up at the Kita.

    During the day my daughter goes to kindergarten. Your job will be to take her there in the morning at around 8-8:15 am (5-15min walk) and to take care of her on Saturdays - maybe go on a fun trip? I am very open to suggestions for Saturdays.

    My daughter likes music, singing, dancing and art projects.

    CURRENT PROJECTS:

    Poster design and other design help is becoming more and more urgent. Please send me a link to your website with previous work if you like to help with design.

    In the long term I am looking for a someone with design skills as well, posters, corporate design, website design (no html, only design - I need a amazing new design which I can then turn into html) - a couple would be perfect. Anyone with amazing video skills is very welcome!

    I am also looking for someone who knows how to construct and build metal work. A certified welder with an engineering background maybe? I am also happy to learn how to weld.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My home is a central apartment in Berlin. You will get a lovely loft bed (140*200cm).

    If you wish, I can also provide food and meals for you.

    I lead a very healthy and fresh lifestyle, please talk to me about the details of your nutrition plan, etc. so I can plan accordingly. :-) I do eat meat, but I am happy to host vegetarians and vegans.

    I have a washing machine and wifi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is essential that you are very respectful, responsible, tidy and VERY clean.

    I am looking for someone who wants to stay several months. Please state how long you want to stay. Please indicate if you have a drivers licence (yes or no) and if you do which one (B,BE,C,CE). We travel a lot.

    If you stay with us while we change locations, you don't need to worry about transportation. We make sure you come with us!

    In Berlin I recommend that you get a monthly or 30-day (zone AB) BVG-ticket for public transportation. Yes, there are controls and yes you will get a fine if you don't have a ticket.

    You get free wifi in each U-Bahn station in Berlin.

    Please tell me how many siblings you have!

    I am fully vaccinated for Covid19. I am fine if you are not.



    Some German culture advice:

    Germans are very correct and detail oriented. So details you might overlook or think of as not important, ARE important for Germans. Compared to other countries Germans usually buy extremely high quality stuff which is very expensive and easy to break. Because they have paid such a high price for it, they take extremely good care of it. They clean it very often and thorough so it does not get old and lasts as long as possible since Germans might not be able to afford a new one once something breaks. So even if something looks old to you, you better take very good care of it because it still might be the best someone has. This applies to everything even though Germans are only famous for their cars. If you tend to break a lot of stuff and expensive things, consider getting a private Haftpflichtversicherung for around 25€ per year.

    In other countries it is much harder to break stuff because it doesn't break as easily and it is much easier and cheaper to replace stuff. Not so in Germany!
    Germans appreciate and value the effort you take in keeping other people's stuff tidy, neat and orderly. They will think of you as a good person.

    Germany take others accountable and act responsible. What does that mean? If you take care of something or something take responsibility, not just for the worst case. If the child makes a mess, clean it up. Remember how stuff was if you rearrange anything and put it back exactly where it was. If you take care of a child and take out all the toys or the child does, put them back (exactly how they were). If you break something, tell the owner and offer to replace it - and then do so. Same goes with dirt. Clean everything after you have used it. Never leave something in a worse state than before. Some Germans even go that far that they clean up after other people at public bathrooms or go around in the streets to clean up without being asked to so by anyone. It is very rude to leave something messy or dirty. Some Germans will talk about you for hours when you leave crumbs at a common space after eating for example. Don't take this light hearted. These things can ruin your reputation and make you lose your job.

    I know workaway is a nice and friendly place where you trust people. In Germany after 40 years living with the Stasi, Germans are not naturally trusting. There are many rules that most people don't follow, but only because they never tell anyone. Since you cannot know all these rules it is always wise to not discuss personal affairs with anyone that is not a very close friend. Critical topics you should keep private are your visa status, your living arrangement (and Anmeldung), any details about your work, co-workers except a very general idea in what area you are working in, how much money you have or earn, and at the moment: whom you have met and when... Do not tell!! Even if you have nothing to hide and did everything right, people still will get you, your host or your friends into trouble if you disclose too much information. This might even cost you money and legal fees EVEN if you have done everything right.
    Quite safe topic you can talk about include your hobbies, anything that is public knowledge like the whether ;-) , anything special going on in public space like construction, events, holidays, anything that you have seen in the city or on your previous trips.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have German wifi.... Speedtest in the morning: 3,0 Mbit/s down - 2,5 Mbit/s up

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Sometimes I host workawayers while we are traveling. This is not in Berlin - it will be at other cool places. There will be a project starting December 1st 2021 until around January 10th 2022 in southern Germany. Please contact me for details.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)












Host ref number: 217123171719