Sewing help wanted on a Catamaran in Panama

Country

Panama

updated  

Favourited 325 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/06/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a sailor living off-grid and traveling around the world. At the same time, I am creating a sailing school where I will teach guests how to sail and live off-grid. At the moment I'm preparing the boat for the sailing school by making repairs and upgrades.
    Also, sometimes I do charters to pay the bills. I am on workaway to find different types of help like:
    -[not requested currently] general boat work (list in the help requested section)
    -Specialized help (now sewing, other times charter chef, video editor, electrical engineer)
    -[not requested currently] crew for ocean crossings (2022 Pacific ocean crossing)

    As you help me you will practice/learn about; off-grid living, sailing, and caribbean water sports (apnea/freediving, kayaking, paddle boarding, etc).

    The boat I have has 4 cabins and can sleep 8 people. It was built for making charters. Sometimes I invite crew to sail with me because it can be nice to have help.

    Currently the boat will stay in or close to Panamà so i can make some repairs and upgrades and create the school.

    At the moment I want to find someone who can make cushions for the bench seats outside, and make some repairs on my sails. I will provide all the materials and sewing machine. I just need someone with skill and knowledge to choose the best materials and experience making something like this. Please tell me about your sewing experience when you message me. In exchange you will get room and board in a beautiful location in the Caribbean (google Portobello, Isla grande, San Blas).


    Also, I will apologize in advance if I am slow or bad at responding to messages...and I get a LOT of messages. We are out of cellphone service range a lot of the time, and I'm a sailor, not a recruiter.
    Thanks 🙏🏽 Steven

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will practice/learn about; off-grid living, sailing, and caribbean water sports (apnea/freediving, kayaking, paddle boarding, etc).

  • Help

    Help

    Normally we share responsibilities for cooking and cleaning. It is important you already know how to cook, because we are usually not near restaurants. You should plan for 3 hours of help each day, and most of the time it will be less but some days it will be more.
    Here's a current list of crew jobs.
    - help with sail repairs
    - repair gel coat cracks
    - make cushions
    - wash and disinfect all bedding and cushions.
    - wash and disinfect all 4 bathrooms
    - find water leak
    - cooking
    - reseal/caulk showers
    - sell some boat stuff
    - scrub hull
    - vinyl restoration & wax
    - stainless steel restoration
    - deck wash and wax
    - vinyl ceiling clean and protect against mold
    - clean bilges
    - clean all water pumps & filters
    - remove/chemical-sand rust spots

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'm learning Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own private cabin with a queen size bed and a private bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time you can use the boat equipment including: kayak, paddleboard, snorkeling gear, or fishing equipment. You can take the kayak to the islands or mainland.
    The boat does not have wifi, so you will need to get a sim card and mobile service, it costs about $3 per week.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have no wifi. You will need your own sim card and service. But you will be able to stay on a boat in the Caribbean.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Typically 1-3 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 216722379391