Help us restore biodiversity on our hobby farm in Caavan, Ulster, Ireland

Country

Ireland

updated  

Favourited 42 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Grandparents Brid and Marc have started farming the farm that has been in Brid's family for centuries. It is located in the rolling drumlins of Co Cavan, a beautiful county full of lakes and lush green fields. Our plan is to provide an area of biodiversity that will last for ever -so far

    30000 native trees have been planted . We also have a tiny herd of Dexter cattle (two cows and their calves) and two donkeys which will help with regenerating the soil in the remaining pastureland. We are not a business. For the next few years we will not be generating any income as we work with nature to restore and build the farm.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Brid is a chef with a big interest in foraging and preserving. She is planning on doing research on soil microbiome and it's contribution to human nutrition. Marc (from France but living in Ireland for 33 years) is a horticulturalist, former restaurateur, welder, product designer. Both are generous with their knowledge and skills. We think Workawayers will benefit from our life experiences and we look forward to learning from them too. Brid is an experienced teacher of English as a foreign language and happy to help improve your English language skills if desired. Brid also has a deep interest in culinary heritage and would be delighted to exchange knowledge and skills in this area. We also have a archaeological site on the land which will be surveyed fully in the future.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help to care for our animals, regenerate the soil, plant more trees and look after the existing hedgerows and trees. We would also like help with documenting flora and fauna species.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Farmhouse accommodation - single or double room as required. Food prep and cleaning is shared among all those who are staying.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Beautiful walks from the farm. The Farm is about 6k from the nearest town. Lifts and outings can be arranged, Regular bus service to Dublin/Enniskillen etc. This is a very quiet place - sleep guaranteed!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Currently 34 Ping, 12 upload, 12 download - awaiting fibre connection

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Lots of room and quiet places for campervans

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 215781797297