Help at old pre-earthquake house to make an art space - painting, clearing, gardening building Kefalonia, Greece

Country

Greece

Favourited 348 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2019

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Help needed April May early June July August Sept early Oct

    We have our old pre-earthquake house The Old Kafenion and have decided to try and bring some of it back to life! We are looking to make an artspace, a healing garden and a place to hold readings (I am an Artist/Writer) and little supper clubs. We are in the process of resorting the old windows, we’re making good some of the inside and are painting the old walls. It needs other stuff doing in other parts of the house.

    We have a downstairs stable to dig out (earth floor) Old stuff to move downstairs. A staircase to put in upstairs. Some painting, some clearing, and some clearing of the gorgeous old garden and replanting. Just a mix up really of all hands to deck. We also want to install a self composting or chemical loo and need advice with this, and sort out some kind of solar lights to light the place up at night! It is rural and basic with no water or electric but fantastic views and in a great location! It is 10. Mins by car down the mountain to Poros the port town of Keflaonia and 15 mins in the other direction to Sami another lovely port town in Keflaonia. I've written a little short story about it on IBooks (The Old Kafenion Detta Darnell)

    The help we need at the moment is for hardworking willing strong people who are good with gardening and knowing what goes where (not absolutely essential though) and their ideas, as well as planning and a little planting for a healing herbs space in the gardens.

    Also anyone is who great with old stone walls and the possibility of digging out the dirt floor and clearing it in the an old outdoor (roofless pretty much) bread making shed with old oven inside! We want to rebuild this and need help with digging out the dirt floor and/or advice/help with rebuilding in stone and re-roofing it.

    We also need to clear a lower garden of rocks and overgrown bushes trees etc and would welcome any advice with drystone walls and how to strengthen them up.

    General help in and around the garden/old kafenion house and anyone who wants to help paint it and clear away old debris. Experience of making windows, restoring old stone houses, yurt living (we're hoping to put one up) Water and chemical loo's and general house and tierd garden restoration in a wonderful place on this amazing island of Kefalonia and general help to get it workable.

    I am also hoping to make a bit of a studio for people to visit (no water or electric or loo up there but we have a spring up the road and have plenty of space in the mountains for private loo needs!)

    I need help with a bit of rough painting with Asvesti (white lime paint) over the front walls, steps and a couple of walls inside and maybe a couple of stone walls outside, to tart it up for the week of my little arts and crafts exhibtion and help during the day to see people or just sort out bits in the garden.

    Would suit anyone looking for a quiet kind of workaway experience for a few hours each day and who doesn't mind going with the flow, either doing/creating a garden/Planting trees etc/ renovating small bits around the old kafenion/ doing some painting/ mucking in with whatever needs doing/ restoring an old out building/ advice and a bit of reno work re windows/doors/stone house restoration/DIY and someone to look after house and garden in August. Anyone also good with pallet furniture - creative types!

    We have a nice little house near the sea where you will stay and get good food with lots of time for relaxation and adventures. Lots of jobs to choose from above! In return for food (basic fresh salads/pasta/rice/healthy stuff I'm trying to lose weight but you won't go hungry) accommodation in a nice house close to the sea. Hours might be morning or early evening or a few full days to help me with a retreat I am putting on in June. You will get lots of time out to see island (will show you round) seafront in walking distance with cafes/tavernas etc. Anyone who can read and speak Greek could also be a bonus but not necessary I have another project for the winter which will need those skills.

    No money in my meagre budget for wages but can accommodate you in the house with your own bedroom (double room if a couple) and I can feed you and you are a stone throw from the beach, I could probably chuck in a couple of island tours also so you would have a pretty nice time.

    Would suit a fairly mindful person who is good with a little craziness lots of quiet time to themselves, doesn't mind own company I dont go out to bars much, and is happy to go with the flow and enjoy this wild and wonderful island. Do let me know if this is your thing and you think you might enjoy doing it. Thanks so much kindest regards Berni Darnell I do need workawayers who can work hard and are not afraid of getting their hands dirty! Its a beautiful place!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    See Kefalonia and its rural wonderful relatively uncommercial way of life, before it changes! Nature is fantastic x

  • Help

    Help

    I think I have covered everything in the main message but do please contact me if you have any questions x

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Greek: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Shared house with all conveniences included

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Free time to explore the beautiful island - swimming sailing horse riding available - bus once a day - 2 min walk down to village It's an unspoilt island with a stunning coastline land is a lovely place to get away from it all ~ come soon we'll be glad you did and hopefully you will too!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day (max 25 hours/week)


Host ref number: 215522495765