1 / 5

Some help in the garden and around the house while you explore the local culture of the Byron Bay area, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 52 times
  • Last activity: 22 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Hi folks
    I'm British by birth but delighted to have made Australia my home. I am open minded and quite alternative in my thinking and I travelled widely in my 20s and 30s. Since settling in Australia and raising a family I have enjoyed sharing my home with other travellers, spending many years as a host on another platform.
    My work has been as a coach, counsellor and educator and my passion is to empower people to feel good about themselves and their bodies. My love for the natural world and for living in harmony with it has has also been a strong motivator in my life. I am also a comedian and singer/songwriter and have created music and theatre to educate folks while entertaining them about these topics that I feel strongly about.
    I live in a spacious home in a quiet area just north of Byron Bay on a lovely private bushy block looking out over a little bit of forest. Sharing the home with me are an Australian/Italian couple and their three year old daughter. My Italian housemate is a very keen gardener and there is always work to be done around the house and in the garden. We have a big veggie garden out front and are developing a small orchard and tropical vegetable food forest around the side of the house. I grow cook and eat organic whenever possible.
    As well as practical help on the property I often have some voluntary projects on the go relating to environmental causes. If these projects also align with your principles then admin, media or web skills to support them are also very welcome.
    I look forward to meeting you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have a wide range of interests especially in the areas of personal growth and self development and sustainability and the environment. I have an interesting library that you are welcome to dip into. You are most welcome to relax on our beautiful deck, head to the beach or explore the local culture of Brunswick Heads and Byron Bay.

  • Help


    We can happily use help in the garden with planting, weeding, mulching, watering and all the sorts of things a garden needs. There is always lots to do. Cooking and other help in the house with cleaning etc is also welcome as are admin, sorting or decluttering skills. I have usually found that whatever skills a person has there is generally a way I can make use of them and as often as not when I need something done, someone shows up who is able to do it!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'm really interested in improving my French

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own space in my cute A-line camper set in our lush garden. It has a comfy double bed and its own air conditioning. The shared bathroom is inside the house. You are welcome to cozy yourself away in the privacy of the Avan but if you prefer to connect you are invited to come inside the main house, relax in the shared living room or chill out on our huge deck looking out over a lovely piece of forest.
    Having eaten in almost every style under the sun I'm happy to work with whatever dietary needs or preferences you might have. I often provide food for you to make your own breakfast and lunch (although we can also eat together) and then cook a shared evening meal. This is flexible and if you like to cook that is a bonus!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 5 minutes by car from the glorious local beaches, 10 by bike or 30 on foot. Public transport is sparse in our area so a car is useful but it is possible to get around without. I am also happy to provide lifts occasionally if needed.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    12 -20 hours a week depending on our arrangement

Host ref number: 213791278491

Feedback (2)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Experience a small Organic farm (7 acres) close to beaches and bush in Western Australia
Greek or Macedonian language practice in Brisbane, Australia