Experience the beautiful English countryside in Buckinghamshire, UK, and take part in a creative carpentry/building project

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 131 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    29  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a College Lecturer in my early sixties and I also work at the British Museum as a Tour guide. I live in Chesham, Buckinghamshire, UK. I am friendly and patient, and able to give clear tasks. I value and respect the company of others, and I wish to welcome people into my living situation. I have two children (both boys -15 and 22) who live with their mother (my erstwhile wife) in the next town from me. At present I am in rented accommodation with my partner and daughter, and have just bought a place of my own very near by. We need help with renovating the new house before we can move in - hence the 'creative carpentry/building project'.....

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will have an experience of living in a quiet, beautiful location and community, within easy reach of London, Meeting and being with friends and family. Taking care of our wonderful dog (previous Travellers have particularly enjoyed this), and contributing to the 'creative carpentry/building project'

    Terms of board and lodging:
    either - 15 hours' work per week in return for free lodging with the usual family cooking facilities: Travellers are expected to provide and pay for their own food items;
    or - 25 hours' work per week in return for free lodging: Travellers can expect to eat with the household/family.

  • Help

    Help

    I am seeking people to help me with:
    - building work - the 'creative carpentry/building project'
    - moving belongings to the new home. The move will be just two doors away, in the same street, but there are steps up and down......
    - the daily chores of life in the house (shopping, cooking, washing, ironing, cleaning)
    - dog-walking
    - gardening.

    I am looking for people who are trustworthy and willing to work carefully, mindfully, and independently on given tasks, and without supervision.

    I have no restrictions concerning life preferences such as vegetarianism, but I am looking for non-smokers. Single people or attached couples are both fine.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The new house has two double bedrooms and one single, for the use of Travellers (I am living in a rented house in the same terrace - just two doors away). Both houses have long gardens, and are in a quiet location, with nearby woods to walk in. Chesham is around an hour’s tube journey to London (on the Metropolitan Line), and is a quiet town, with plenty of shopping facilities, set in the beautiful countryside of the Chiltern Hills.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Chesham station on the Transport for London Metropolitan Line is 15 minutes walk away; a Day Travel-card to London is around £15.00 off-peak, and the Metropolitan Line goes directly to Central London; one can also change onto the Chiltern Line directly to London Marylebone. I can recommend interesting places to visit in London.There are also beautiful local walks to enjoy locally.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 15 hours per week (no food provided) or 25 hours per week (with food provided)

Me (Andrew), the house owner.
Front view of the house.
Dining room.
Well-equipped kitchen (stove, oven, dish washer, fridge, kettle, etc).
The single bedroom.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)




















Host ref number: 212435922226