Join a French/Australian family on an organic orchard in Castlemaine, Victoria, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 70 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/11/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    2324

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an Australian / French couple and our two young sons living close to the center of Castlemaine.

    We manage an organic orchard in Harcourt, just outside Castlemaine.

    We are politically engaged, social and love to host people. We are looking for people who want to help out around the house and at the orchard.

    We have loads of projects small and large and love having people come and stay with us.

    Length of stay depends on what we're up to when you get in touch. We're happy to provide food and accommodation in a self contained studio in the garden in exchange for 4-5 hrs work a day.

    We have a 5 year old & 20 month old and we speak French & English at home.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are politically engaged activists alongside our other work, Yoann is an engineer and Alex is a filmmaker. We are more than happy to engage in conversation about the history and politics of Australia and much more.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We live in Castlemaine and we run an organic stone fruit orchard in Harcourt where you can come and help us!

    At home have a small garden which can always do with some love and small renovation projects and things on the go.

    We are particularly keen on help around house and entertaining the toddler who is bilingual and lots of fun.

    We have a 5 year old and 21 month year old so kids are most welcome too.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We speak French and English at home and our kids are bilingual (the younger one is just learning to talk).

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Self contained studio with queen bed, lounge room, heating, cooling, wifi, sink and en-suite in our garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's some great walks nearby & so much to do in the region which we can help with recommendations.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 212296694474