Experience and learn about the farming lifestyle on our farm in Erxleben, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 47 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/02/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    172

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Benjamin and Isabelle. We are both 31. I'm originally from the Netherlands and Isabelle from Saxony. We live in a little village in the middle of Germany. We produce organic vegetables on 8 hektares of land and sell them to restaurants, on the market and to whole sale. This is what we do to earn our money and of course because we enjoy the work. We keep animals too. We have chickens, ducks, geese, turkeys, sheep, cats and soon a few pigs.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will definetely learn a lot about vegetables and animals. (and hopfully more)

  • Help

    Help

    We have many different kinds of chores here, depending on the season. Little plants must be planted, there's some weeding to do, lettuce must be cut, harvesting cabbage or potatoes. In June and July it's time to pick berries and beans. In the greenhouses are tomatoes and cucumbers that need care and harvesting. It would also be nice when somebody would like to cook jam from our berries or also cooking in general. We only eat meat from our own animals.
    Usually in the weekend we give our sheep new pasture. Sometimes we have some construction projects to do or cleaning stables. During the winter we slaughter a few times. mainly chickens, turkeys and lamb. It's also the season to chop firewood.
    When people like to build something; woodwork, welding, any sort of construction or ideas are welcome and we can talk about it and see what we can realise.
    I think when you write us, it's good to give us a few hints about what your interests are and i think we'll find something that suits you

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, Dutch, English. Very little Spanish and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    trailer, your own room in the house, in a tent.

    Food.
    We usualy eat 3 meals a day. We would like to eat together with our workawayers at least a few times a week. The kitchen can be used at any time if you're hungry in between meals or if you want to make coffee or tea.
    We only eat meat from our own animals or animals from which we know they had a good life. We used to eat vegetarian and its still no problem to cook without meat. especially in summer.

    Smoking: only outside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In our vilage we 2 supermarkets, a bakery, pharmacy, familiy doctor, gas station. The next train station is 10km away, but we can get and take people there. Berlin is 170km from here. We deliver vegetables to Wolfsburg few times a week, so it's possible to get a lift there to. Braunschweig is not to far too. Arround 50km

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 211575974143