Help us to become self-sufficient in Belper, Derbyshire, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 567 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
  • Description


    Living on the farm is an eclectic group of people. Tony (AKA the grumpy farmer) and his wife Sue who run the farm on a daily basis with the help of Heather (Tonys daughter) and Nolwenn a previous workaway who now has a full time job.
    Julie (Tonys other daughter) and Monty (Crazy American) also live in the farmhouse as.
    Helping around the farm is Jackie (Head Gardener), Nathan (Woodsman) and Roy (Mechanic)
    Another previous workaway, Frank, comes back from Germany to help with the Brewing and a previous lodger Ian looks after the Bees.
    On Weekends there are a number of people who come to help in the Bullshed.

    There is always a hustle and bustle on the farm with people coming and going either to help or to see Tony and Sue .
    The Farm is just outside the town of Belper which has bus and rail services to Derby. There are a few bicycles available on the farm (you would need to provide your own helmet)

    The Farm has two main projects: The Farm itself and the Bullshed. The idea is that the Farm generates good quality, low impact produce which is then used or sold through the Bullshed a Microbistro that is open on weekends and at our local market. Workaways will not be asked to partake in the Bullshed or the market.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As an old farmer once said, the more you put in the more you'll get out. There is plenty of opportunity to try your hand at most things provided that you show willing. As the Farm is quite busy Workaways need to put themselves forward. Please let Tony know what you would like to do and if its possible he will help facilitate this. If he doesn't know, he can't help.
    There are plenty of people on the farm so improving your English (and teaching us your language) is possible.
    Tony will teach you all about Derbyshire.
    Please note we do not offer paid work

  • Help


    We are very lucky to live on and work a 60 acre farm, here in the beautiful Derbyshire country side close to the towns of Belper ,Wirksworth and the Derwent Mills World Heritage Site . The farm was dairy farm before it lost a lot of its land to neighbouring farms to allow them to be more sustainable in this day and age ,and we are left with the most beautiful steep side and small fields,which we farm in what is known as a low input way,ie the only stuff we put on the fields is what is generated on the farm. and is now starting to blossom. We are currently trying to restore our medieval fields into what they were with natural wild flowers and herb meadows. We are an old low intensity family farm, which require a lot of man power to work. Most of our equipment is well over 30 years old.
    We have a herd of 50+ dairy goats, beef cattle, pigs, chickens & ducks, dogs, cats, a couple of sheep and horses. We also have a small apiary on site.We cut as much meadow hay as we can to feed our stock and buy in grain from a neighbour who is also a great mentor.

    We have lots of things to do, as well as the normal day to day farming of making sure the animals are fed and watered,we have, fencing, gardening, painting, building, more gardening, brewing, bottling and maintenance work and of course housekeeping to name just a few. Helping to feed, water and clean out the animals is one of the main jobs we expect all our workaways to help with on a daily basis.
    Our ongoing ambition is to become self-sufficient from produce of the farm and the surrounding hedgerows. So for this we need to grow fruit, vegetables and grain. We need to produce beef, pork and goat. Plus brew and ferment beer, cider, slow gin and blackberry vinegar. Whilst also making cheese and butter. In the autumn we look for help foraging along the farms many hedges and making jams and chutneys.
    We welcome longer term workawayers, single and couples even small groups. We are also quite keen on the idea of internships. We have a varied accommodation, including a small bunkhouse and rooms in the farmhouse.
    Good luck and enjoy your workaway experience, it will hopefully give you memories which you can enjoy and you never know you may pick up some new skills and friends on the way.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Bedroom in farm house/family home, bunkhouse, old barn/shed conversion.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have had a couple ask if they could come but are allergic to animals, this is a farm and the main stay of the work is around working with the animals.
    As stated above the aim of the farm is to produce low impact produce that can be sold through the farm, this does include some of the animals.
    In your spare time there are plenty of local footpaths. The Farm is on the outskirts of the Derwent Valley World Heritage site and is within driving distance of Chatsworth house, Ashbourne and the White Peak, as well as the main Peak district although this is slightly further north.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day or 25 hrs over 7 days

Host ref number: 211383642676