Join us in the mountains 30 minutes from Montreux, Switzerland

Country

Switzerland

new host  

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Sonia and Loïs, 36 and 37 yrs, Swiss nationals, living in the Swiss mountains in an old typical Swiss chalet. Loïs works in landscaping, renovation and many more projects. Sonia works as a holistic health and nutrition coach, currently developing a new coaching program. She also has various other projects in marketing, business consulting, admin work...

    We are running a big vegetable garden aimed to feed us throughout the year. It is the garden and the general maintenance of the house (cleaning) plus cooking, that is in need of extra hands.
    We live in a small village of about 40 houses, more or less close together. Around us: nature, peace, calm and sheep. A beautiful forrest with many hiking paths starting in front of our door. View onto a majestic mountain covered in snow for nearly 6 month per year.
    We are living a simple, connected life. A Swiss shepherd dog and an Irish cat are sharing our home.

    Even though completely in nature, there is a bus about 10 foot minutes away that connects 3-5 times per day to the next village with shops « Bex ». From Bex the train brings you in 30 minutes to Montreux, 45 to Lausanne, 90 to Geneva, 120 to Bern. Switzerland is very small so you are very quickly anywhere.
    We eat a plantbased diet with the occasional eggs and cheese from the farmers in the region. We only accommodate a vegetarian diet.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn to be in solitude in nature. Quiet and calm.
    Gardening skills, preserving food skills, saving seeds skills.
    Discover a different style of living in Switzerland. Discover the unique nature around here and see what life in the Swiss mountains is like.

  • Help

    Help

    >>>>>>> WE ARE CURRENTLY AWAITING A WORKAWAYER AND ARE NOT TAKING MORE THAN ONE PERSON AT AT TIME<<<<<<<

    We are looking for help Monday to Friday 10am to 4pm with one hour break for a shared lunch (total 5 hours work per day). Minimum stay is 1 week with 5 working days and 2 free days. On the free days, please prepare your own food ahead. Food is provided by us. Maximum stay is 2 weeks.
    You prepare your own breakfast before 10am (breakfast provided by us). In the morning you have a 1 hour cleaning task in the house and then 1 hour for cooking lunch (vegan) for 2-4 people plus prepare a soup for dinner.
    We then share lunch together and take a one hour break. In the afternoon, after cleaning the kitchen, you have a job for 2-3 hours around the house, garden and the harvest. This can be: cutting gras, weeding, turning compost, saving seeds, drying herbs, cleaning glass jars for preserves, create preserves. The tasks are connected with the season and at the moment we are in harvest/storage mode.

    We are looking for one person or a couple or two people traveling together, that are looking to work in exchange of quiet and solitude in nature. You are staying in an original Mongolian yurt on our property. There is a double and a single bed in the yurt and proper duvets and pillows. We do not take two strangers at the same time, so you don’t have to share the yurt unless you are traveling with someone. We expect you to spend your time after work by yourself in the yurt or outside. Hiking, reading, creating art or music, exploring Switzerland - whatever you like to do. Dinner is the soup prepared at Lunch and leftovers that you are enjoying by yourself in the yurt.
    The yurt has a wooden fired stove. You need to make a fire to keep warm. It gets very cozy. It is a very natural way of living.
    Toilets and showers are in the house. We ask you to use the shower in the morning before work or in the afternoon STRAIGHT after work. The toilets are of course accessible all day and night.

    We do not accept pets as it creates too much trouble with our own pets.
    We speak fluently english, german and french.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Mongolian yurt with one double and one single mattress, real duvets and pillows. Wood fired stove. Shower and toilet in the house.
    It gets really cold at night in Switzerland! Remember that when applying. You might wake up in the middle of the night and need to make a new fire to stay warm till the morning (or cuddle into the duvet really well).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The local bus connects to Bex train station 2-5 times per day. From there you are anywhere in Switzerland within a couple of hours.
    We live a plant-based lifestyle and we ask you to respect this and not introduce any other foods.
    We provide all meals, however breakfast you prepare yourself in your free time and dinner you eat yourself in your free time. We share lunch together.
    We are really looking for someone who is looking for quiet time in nature in exchange of some work.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have stable 4g connection where we live. I work from home myself and connect the internet through my smartphone. If you can't bring your own subscription, there is the possibility to connect through my phone or Loïs's phone. However, please ask beforehand as this obviously only works if we are home and don't go anywhere with our phones... ;)

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You can park your vehicle on our private car park or on a parking of our neighbour. Please tell us the dimensions of your vehicle beforehand, as we live in a village with small roads and height restrictions.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 198681172469