Cultural exchange in my shared student home near Hannover in Germany



Favourited 25 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


Contact Register

 Min stay requested: No minimum

  • Description


    Hey there!

    My name is Casjen, I'm 21 years old and I study Creative Writing in a town called Hildesheim near Hannover in Germany (Hamburg isn't that far away either). I share a small flat right in the centre of Hildesheim with my flatmate Melina, a lovely person who produces short movies and other stuff like that.
    We'd both like to welcome you to our home, get to know you and learn all kinds of things about your country! I'll happily show you around in Hildesheim, introduce you to my friends, take you to bars, cook with you or whatever you're interested in. Basically, I'm just interested in cultural exchange and making new friends from all around the world. Of course it would be great if you could help to keep the apartment clean and usual stuff like that.
    It would be great if you are someone who is seriously interested in getting to know people from other countries. I hope to build long-term friendships in which we can visit each other from time to time.

    We don't want someone who drinks alcohol or does drugs (outside or inside the apartment) and we're very serious about this. If we catch you drinking alcohol or doing drugs, you'll be asked to leave our apartment right away without excuses. Smoking cigarettes is okay, but only on the balcony.
    Vegetarians / Vegans only. We're very serious about this as well. We don't want meat-eaters in our home.
    I'm a minimalist (sadly, my flatmate isn't) and we both try to live a little zero-waste.
    Sorry, we can't host more than one person or people with pets!
    My flatmate and I are both part of the LGBT community. I'm a gay transgender man, so you shouldn't have a problem with that and should be supportive of the queer community. Since I know that it can still be hard and dangerous for queer folks to find a nice and safe place to stay, I kindly ask especially the queer people among you to ask for a stay with us here in Germany, we'll gladly have you here!
    Politics are important to us, we only want to spend time with left-winged people and feminists.
    This is not a place for homophobia, transphobia, racism, sexism, anti-feminism, religious fundamentalism or other types of hate against any kind of people.

    I try to write on a daily basis (mainly because I have to write creative stuff for Uni, but also because I am working on several books at the moment) and it would be awesome if you just applied to write together everyday! Melina is a writer as well (and so are many of my friends) which means that we could maybe team up and have some artsy time all together?

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Just think about it: You'll basically get to live in Germany for free and don't do anything for it! All I ask you to do is be nice, hang out with me and keep the apartment clean with us. All you have to pay for is your food (and food isn't /that/ expensive in Germany) and the flight/train tickets to get to Germany. I can show you around, introduce you to locals, take you to bars and show you the German way of life.

  • Help


    Basically I'm just looking for some cultural exchange and someone who is interested in a long-term friendship in which we can visit each other from time to time.
    Of course we'll ask you to keep the apartment clean while you stay here, but that's just normal, right?
    If you want to, we can cook together, shop groceries together, and so on. Sadly, since I'm just a student at Uni, I won't be able to pay for you food, so we can just split the bills. :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English

  • Accommodation


    While you stay here with us you will sleep in my bedroom to guarantee that you have your private space. I'll sleep on a bed-couch in the kitchen. My bedroom is just a normal bedroom, honestly - double bed, some books, some clothes, a window.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week (food not included)

Host ref number: 194632413228