Wonderful woodland work in Dordogne

Country

France

Favourited 400 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our 17th C stone farmhouse sits on a hilltop surrounded by 15 ha. of meadows and chestnut woodland. We are hidden in 'la France profonde' between the Dordogne and Lot rivers, yet within a few miles of world-famous beauty spots such as the castles on the river Dordogne, and the towns of Monpazier and Sarlat.

    The courtyard is the hub of a farmhouse, a converted barn (where we can accommodate three couples) and a large studio/ office. We have extensive gardens and vegetable plots, and open pasture fields alive with butterflies and mixed woodland, with chestnut dominant.

    As a couple we have complementary skills: Robin is a retired farmer/conservationist while Patricia has put her skills as a landscape architect to extensive use here. We are good teachers and good cooks and believe in living off the land as much as possible, without being fanatic: after all, we have great local markets around us. We love the workaway organisation: it's a great chance to share experiences, pass on skills and make world-wide friends.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer an English-language version of French life, with insights after our 12 years of living here, so reat for travellers wanting to experience France but with little/no French language skills. This area is rich in history and historic buildings and we ensure our travellers get the chance to experience them. Evenings around the dining table are a great chance to swap stories and cultural references and we can teach you both English and French cuisine as well as organic gardening and outside skills.

  • Help

    Help

    If you like the outdoor life in a stunningly beautiful landscape, then this may be for you. Spring is almost here and we would love some help with the ongoing woodland work: tree pruning, logging, improving woodland paths, battling brambles. Oh yes, and there's the preparation of our new wildflower meadow for the bees and starting off the veggie garden for this year. We can offer delightful accommodation, use of the swimming pool, great food ( we are assured by earlier workaways) and a friendly, relaxed atmosphere with plenty of free time.

    If you already have forestry or wood-cutting experience, please apply now. Ditto if you have experience in building drystone walls. If neither, but keen to learn, or keen on gardening and learning about organic vegetable production, you will be welcome, too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, some Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double-bed accommodation and private shower room in either the studio or the gite, depending on the time of year; good food (Robin is an excellent cook) and use of the pool and gardens.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nearest train stations are Gourdon (46) and Le Buisson (24). Cahors is about 50 minutes away.
    Robin has an enormous fund of wildlife knowledge and Patricia is happy to pass on garden design tips. Local sights are too many to mention - World Heritage Site Dordogne valley with many castles, medieval walled villages and Renaissance towns, canoeing on the river, vineyard visits and lots more.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    We are very flexible, so days off can be agreed and we never expect more than 5 hours per day.















Host ref number: 19368335524d