Rural lifestyle in Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 144 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of six, living in the subtropical Bay of Plenty. We’re situated on a 2.5 hectare lifestyle block with views of the sea and countryside, and nearby to surf beaches and world-class mountain biking. We share the property with a few cows and chickens and two cats, and we produce some of our own spray-free vegetables, fruit and meat.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a quite typical family with a bit of a crazy outlook sometimes, so come and join in our fun and chaos :-) Pim and Cath are well travelled and educated, and enjoy political conversation, making social connections for the benefit of humanity, academic and business discussion around improving society and the environment... We are also a cricket and field hockey family ;-D As well as the daily interaction with our growing family, there are also some infrastructure and development projects that you may be able to take part in, with opportunities for creativity and initiative for those with the right skill-set. For example, projects like creating a scent garden, adobe walls and landscape features, as well as wood-working tools and some indoor projects to create individual furniture/ fittings for the home we love. With all these growing boys, we often have friends and family here for BBQs, bonfires and parties and we always welcome our visitors to join in.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a sunny self-contained cottage that is sometimes available (we take airbnb bookings so you just need to check close to the time you want to visit), but we can also accommodate workaways who are travelling in their van/bus/camper wagon.

    We have 101 improvements we dream about around the property. Most of the projects we have underway require building skills and project management initiative. If you are a couple and one has useful building/project skills there is plenty of other work for a partner - we always appreciate help with household chores and gardening. The gardens need more time than we have available to improve the layout, plant shelter, mulch, prune, fence, harvest…. We still have some work to do on our irrigation infrastructure – if you have experience in this area please do let us know.

    You need to be child friendly, non-smoking and drug free to fit our lifestyle, and we’re happy to be flexible in how you work so you can achieve your travel goals – if you want to help some full days and take days off, that’s all good. If you’re looking for a longer term stay and one partner wants to work in town we’re happy to try and work something out.

    You MUST HAVE your own vehicle – we live a few kilometres from town up a quiet road and there are no buses.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little Dutch and German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The cottage is sometimes available but it depends on what bookings we get from airBNB. We have flat space for a camper van and bathroom in the main house. Laundry facilities are in the main house too. We welcome visitors to be part of the family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nearby we have many stunning beaches, Mt Maunganui where the sights are fantastic, scuba diving, fishing and sea kayaking opportunities, hiking and mountain biking. Rotorua is one hour's drive from here, and many of the North Island's tourism favourites are handy to this location. You can take a boat ride to an active volcano, go caving at Waitomo, skiing at Mt Ruapehu, surfing east coast or west coast, visit Cathedral Cove and hot water beach...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week









Host ref number: 192954756687